Lobo Ski Team In 7th Place at Alaska Invitational
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  01/05/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Jan. 5, 2009

UAA Invitational - Day One Results

ANCHORAGE, Alaska --- The University of New Mexico ski team is in seventh place with 99 points after the first day of competition in the University of Alaska-Anchorage Invitational in conjunction with the 2009 Conoco Phillips U.S. Cross Country Ski Championships.

With temperatures in Anchorage moving up to as high as 2 degrees on Monday, the Lobos competed in the women's 5-kilometer and men's 10-kilometer freestyle/skate races.

Sophomore Simon Reissmann placed second among collegiate skiers in the men's race, leading the Lobo men to a third-place team finish with 63 points. Reissman finished 1:56.9 behind the overall winner. Sophomore Martin Kaas finished 11th among the RMISA racers, followed by senior Rick Grahn in 20th place.

Several Lobos have been battling illness and were unable to start today, most notably 2008 All-American Polina Ermoshina.

The Lobo women struggled to a seventh-place team finish with 36 points. Senior Melanie Zemp was the top finisher for the Lobos, followed by freshmen Svenja Niemeier and Ingrid Leask.

Notable Lobo alumna Kristina Strandberg placed ninth overall in the women's race.

The second day of Nordic competition has been moved up 24 hours to Tuesday, Jan. 6. The Lobos will compete in the 5km and 10km classical races at Kincaid Park. Alpine competition for the Alaska Invitational will be held Jan. 9 and 11 at Alyeska Ski Resort. The Seawolf Invitational, the second RMISA meet taking place in Anchorage, will begin on Jan. 9.

UAA Invitational Team Standings - points through two events
1. Alaska-Anchorage - 159
2. Colorado - 131
3. Denver - 116
4. Montana State - 112
5. Utah - 105
5. Nevada - 105
7. New Mexico - 99
8. Whitman - 45
9. Wyoming - 24

UNM Individual Finishes
Men's 10K Freestyle
2. Simon Reissmann - 26:14.1
11. Martin Kaas - 27:16.1
20. Rick Grahn - 28:19.5
29. Casey Dyck - 29:14.6
38. Peter Landl - 30:34.9
DNS - Tor-Hakon Hellebostad (ill); Christoffer Calleson (ill)

Women's 5K Freestyle
20. Melanie Zemp - 17:19.0
24. Svenja Niemeier - 17:49.2
30. Ingrid Leask - 18:08.6
DNS - Polina Ermoshina (ill)