LoboTV
UNM Softball Falls to Syracuse, 12-6
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/07/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 7, 2009

Box Score

Game 2 - Syracuse - New Mexico Box Score in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Lobo senior Samantha Hughes scored two runs and junior Katie Gilmore had two RBI and two hits, but the Lobo efforts were not enough as UNM fell 12-6 to Syracuse University Saturday afternoon at Lobo Field.

UNM (1-1) scored in the bottom of the first inning on a double by Gilmore that scored runners from second and third. A fielder's choice scored the third run for the Lobos to hand them a 3-0 lead after one.

Syracuse (1-1) got two runs in the top of the second inning and tied the game in the third inning when Hallie Gibbs singled to centerfield to score an Orange run. The Orange scored a single run in the fifth and plated four runs in the sixth inning to take an 8-4 lead into the bottom of the sixth.

The Lobos pushed two runs across the plate in the bottom of the sixth inning to cut Syracuse's lead to 8-6. Jessica Lujan-Dresslar's double scored the first run of the inning for UNM. Lujan-Dresslar scored later on a passed ball by Syracuse's Amy Kelley.

Syracuse scored four runs in the seventh inning to seal the win for the Orange.

Jenna Caira (1-0) received the win for Syracuse with six strikeouts, while Analise Rubalcava (0-1) was handed the loss.

The Lobos host the final game of the three-game series against Syracuse on Sunday (Feb. 8) at 1 p.m. at Lobo Field. Live video and Gametracker will be provided through All-Access available at www.GoLobos.com.

Wednesday, April 23
5 - 13 (L)
Softball
at Colorado State
Friday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Saturday, April 26
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Sunday, April 27
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Tuesday, April 29
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. NM State
Friday, May 02
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Saturday, May 03
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Thursday, May 15
TBA - 
Softball
at TBD
Thursday, May 22
TBA - 
Softball
at TBD
E-News