Stephen F. Austin Claims Hilton Classic Title With 3-1 Over Lobos
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  08/26/2006
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Aug. 26, 2006

Box Score |  Photo Gallery

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The New Mexico volleyball team fell to undefeated, Hilton Albuquerque Classic champions, Stephen F. Austin. Senior Kelly Therkelsen led the Lobos, earning a spot on the all-tournament team, with a double-double.

SFA came out a little rattled, committing three errors to extend the Lobos' lead to 4-1. But they shook it off and tied the match at 10. Nine kills from Traci Rohde led to a 15-4 Ladyjack run and an eventual 30-19 win.

Stephen F. Austin reversed the table on New Mexico to start game two, building a 6-0 lead before freshman Allison Suiter was able to get UNM on the board with a kill. But the Ladyjacks were running on all cylinders, stringing together a 12-3 run en route to a 30-16 victory.

Freshman Kathleen Crawley got the Lobos started off on the right foot in game three, dropping in two aces. The team ran with the momentum, staying with SFA the entire game. Trailing 27-28, head coach Kelley McKee called a time out, giving her team the break it needed to regroup. The Lobos came out and got a huge block from sophomores Joelle Ingram and Sarah Kwasigroch to tie the game. Junior Jennifer Heasty then stepped back to serve and slipped in an ace for the lead. The Lobos won the match, 30-28, on the next serve thanks to an attack error from SFA.

New Mexico carried the momentum into game four, holding a 12-10 lead when the Stephen F. Austin called a timeout. The Ladyjacks came back renewed, going on a 20-5 run for a 30-17 win and the tournament title.

Therkelsen recorded a team-high 11 kills with 13 digs for UNM. Kwasigroch handed out 30 assists, Suiter posted six blocks and sophomore Gayle Tripp recorded 18 digs to lead the Lobos.

New Mexico hits the road next weekend, participating in the Baylor Invitational at Waco, Texas. The Lobos play Houston and Baylor on Friday, Sept. 1 at 2:30 and 7:30 p.m. CT.

Hilton Albuquerque Classic Tournament Placings
1. Stephen F. Austin
2. Utah State
3. New Mexico
4. UC Riverside

Hilton Albuquerque Classic All-Tournament Team
Janiece Manuel, UC Riverside
Kelly Therkelsen, UNM
Amanda Nielson, Utah State
Melissa Larson, Utah State
JJ Jones, Stephen F. Austin
Traci Rohde, Stephen F. Austin
MVP - Lauren Railey, Stephen F. Austin

Saturday, August 22
7:00 PM - 
vs. Alumnae (Exhibition)
Friday, August 28
8:00 AM - 
at Belmont
3:00 PM - 
at Albany
Saturday, August 29
5:00 PM - 
at Ball State