LoboTV
Lobos Lose To Minnesota, 7-3
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/07/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 7, 2008

Box Score

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. --- Kevin Atkinson and Mike Brownstein recorded two hits each against Minnesota (3-4) on Friday night, but the Golden Gophers topped the Lobos, 7-3, in the first round of the Metrodome Tournament at the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome.

Atkinson, a junior from Surrey, British Columbia, knocked a single up the middle in the top of the fourth to score Brownstein and cut the Minnesota lead to 2-1.

Lobo starter Bobby LaFromboise (2-1) struggled in the fourth inning, giving up four hits, four runs and a walk, before getting Jeremy Chlan to strike out and end the inning with Minnesota up, 6-1.

LaFromboise lasted another inning and was the pitcher of record when the Lobos made an offensive push in the top of the sixth.

Shortstop Scott Gracey started the inning with a single to left, followed by a Brownstein single to right center to put Gracey in scoring position. Max Willett scored Gracey on a sacrifice fly to cut the score to 6-2.

Atkinson got his second hit of the game, doubling Brownstein into scoring position. Matt Hibbitts picked up an RBI on a ground out to short to score Brownstein, making the score 6-3.

Will Kerr held Minnesota to only one unearned run in relief for the Lobos, 7-3.

Tom Buske (1-0) picked up the win for Minnesota, while Scott Mayas earned his first save of the season.

The Lobos (7-4) will face Northern Iowa on Saturday, March 8 at 12 p.m. (MST).

Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 18
3:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 19
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Tuesday, April 21
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. New Mexico State
Friday, April 24
5:30 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
E-News