LoboTV
Lobos Lose To Minnesota, 7-3
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/07/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 7, 2008

Box Score

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. --- Kevin Atkinson and Mike Brownstein recorded two hits each against Minnesota (3-4) on Friday night, but the Golden Gophers topped the Lobos, 7-3, in the first round of the Metrodome Tournament at the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome.

Atkinson, a junior from Surrey, British Columbia, knocked a single up the middle in the top of the fourth to score Brownstein and cut the Minnesota lead to 2-1.

Lobo starter Bobby LaFromboise (2-1) struggled in the fourth inning, giving up four hits, four runs and a walk, before getting Jeremy Chlan to strike out and end the inning with Minnesota up, 6-1.

LaFromboise lasted another inning and was the pitcher of record when the Lobos made an offensive push in the top of the sixth.

Shortstop Scott Gracey started the inning with a single to left, followed by a Brownstein single to right center to put Gracey in scoring position. Max Willett scored Gracey on a sacrifice fly to cut the score to 6-2.

Atkinson got his second hit of the game, doubling Brownstein into scoring position. Matt Hibbitts picked up an RBI on a ground out to short to score Brownstein, making the score 6-3.

Will Kerr held Minnesota to only one unearned run in relief for the Lobos, 7-3.

Tom Buske (1-0) picked up the win for Minnesota, while Scott Mayas earned his first save of the season.

The Lobos (7-4) will face Northern Iowa on Saturday, March 8 at 12 p.m. (MST).

Saturday, April 19
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
E-News