LoboTV
No. 18 Nebraska Downs Lobos, 3-0
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/18/2005
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 18, 2005

Box Score

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The New Mexico softball team (0-6) held with No. 18/23 Nebraska for most of the game but couldn't hold them down long enough as the Huskers downed the Lobos, 3-0 in the Lobos' first game of the Troy Cox Classic hosted by New Mexico State.

Through four innings, neither team managed to score despite plenty of chances. The Lobos had runners are first and third base with two out in the first. They also had the bases loaded in the third with one out but couldn't convert.

Lizzy Rock got Nebraska on the board in the fourth with a two-out RBI double to center field that allowed Jamie Waldecker to score from second. One inning later and again with two outs, Cassie Kleinsmith singled to left field, bringing home Sheena Lawrick, who singles and stole second. The final Husker run came in the seventh as Lawrick singled to drive in Jessica Yoachim.

Sophomore right fielder Ryanne Hodgins tried to rally the troops in the seventh with a single of her own but that is all the Lobos would muster.

Senior Ashley Perkins (0-3) suffered the loss despite striking out 11 batters. Perkins allowed eight hits and four walks in her complete game effort. Ashley DeBuhr earned her first win of the season, throwing 4.2 innings of relief. DeBuhr gave up just two hits, walked two batters and sat down five. Jaime Borg started the game for Nebraska, going 2.1 innings for one hit and two walks.

Overall, the Huskers outhit New Mexico 8-3. Both teams committed three errors. Hodgins, junior left fielder Kristina Schmallen and freshman second baseman Ashley Allen collected the Lobos three hits. KoKo Tacha led Nebraska at the plate, going 2-3. Lawrick was 2-4.

The Lobos continue action tonight, playing New Mexico State.

Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Softball
at UNLV
Sunday, March 29
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at UNLV
Thursday, April 02
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Friday, April 03
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, April 04
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, April 07
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
Wednesday, April 08
11:00 AM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
Friday, April 10
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Saturday, April 11
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Sunday, April 12
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Softball
at New Mexico State
Friday, April 24
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
Sunday, April 26
12:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
E-News