LoboTV
Baseball Scores School-Record 31 Runs in 31-11 Rout of Air Force
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/17/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 17, 2004

Box Score

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - It was a record-breaking day for the New Mexico baseball team as it scored a school-record 31 runs in a 31-11 rout of Air Force Saturday afternoon at Falcon Field. The 31 runs were also a Mountain West record for runs in a single game, and the Lobos recorded 29 hits, another MWC record. With the win, the Lobos have won seven of their last eight MWC games to improve to 10-4 in the conference (13-19-1 overall), while Air Force falls to 5-29 (0-10 MWC).

Three Lobos recorded five hits in the offensive onslaught, including Ryan Barba (5-for-7), Joe Salas (5-for-6) and Daniel Stovall (5-for-6). Stovall also belted two homers and had five RBI. Barba scored four runs, collected five RBI and smashed a homer, while Salas scored five times with three RBI.

Shortstop Josh Mader went 2-for-2 with three runs and three RBI, including a two-run homer in the fifth. Jeff Grady also went deep for the Lobos, scoring four runs with two RBI.

Sean Murray scored three runs and went 2-for-6 with two RBI, while Chris Dabbs collected two hits and three RBI.

The Lobos scored seven runs in the first and broke the game open with 12 runs in the fifth.

Danny Ray Herrera (3-4) threw five innings in the victory, striking out a season-high nine batters while scattering 11 hits. Kyle DePierre (0-2) took the loss for the Falcons.

The Lobos and Falcons conclude their three-game series tomorrow at 12 p.m. Live stats will be available at www.GoLobos.com and www.AirForceSports.com.

Thursday, April 17
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Friday, April 18
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Saturday, April 19
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
E-News