LoboTV
Lobos Fall To No. 5 Arizona In Kajikawa Classic Finale
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/12/2006
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 12, 2006

Final Stats

TEMPE, Ariz. - One day after its near upset of No. 7 Stanford, New Mexico was unable to keep pace with fifth-ranked Arizona, falling 9-1 in five innings this morning in the team's final game at Arizona State's Kajikawa Classic tournament. UNM fell to 0-5 early in its daunting non-conference schedule, but had three narrow losses of two runs or less during this weekend's tournament.

Arizona (5-0) broke open a competitive 3-0 game with six runs in the third inning. However, the Lobos became the first team to score against Arizona this year when senior Kristina Schmallen drove in junior Ryanne Hodgins in the fourth inning on a fielder's choice play. Hodgins had led off the inning with a single and advanced to third on another single by junior Jennifer Deitrich.

The Wildcats opened the season with five straight wins by a combined score of 25-0 at the ASU tournament, including a 1-0 win over fourth-ranked Texas on Saturday night. UNM rookie pitcher Jen Mendenhall, who was outstanding in the Lobos' 3-2 loss to Stanford, fell to 0-2 on the year by allowing nine runs in 2 2/3 innings.

New Mexico returns to tournament play on the road next weekend when it travels to Las Vegas for five more games. Complete stats from today's game are available on www.sundevils.com and will be posted on www.golobos.com on Monday morning.

Saturday, April 19
9 - 12 (L)
Softball
vs. UNLV
Tuesday, April 22
2:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State (DH)
Wednesday, April 23
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State
Friday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Saturday, April 26
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Sunday, April 27
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Tuesday, April 29
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. NM State
Friday, May 02
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Saturday, May 03
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Thursday, May 15
TBA - 
Softball
at TBD
E-News