Lobo Football Has 12 Student-Athletes Named Academic All-MWC
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/12/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 12, 2010

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- The New Mexico football program had 12 student-athletes named to the Fall 2009 Academic All-Mountain West Conference team today by the league office. The Lobos were recognized for their outstanding accomplishments in the classroom. The UNM players recognized were James Aho, Chris Biren, Kasey Carrier, Brad Gruner, Evan Jacobsen, Victor James, Clint McPeek, Spencer Merritt, Cody Neely, Frankie Solomon, Joshua Taufalele and Nick Wilhelm.

"This is a testament to the hard work of our student-athletes and we are extremely proud," said Lobo head coach Mike Locksley. "Dedication in the classroom is our first priority and these young men have demonstrated that. It's a great honor for these guys and we look for continued success academically."

Seniors Clint McPeek and Frankie Solomon are four-time Academic All-MWC honorees while Joshua Taufalele has earned the award both seasons at New Mexico. Sophomore Brad Gruner is a three-time winner and sophomore James Aho is making his second appearance on the list.

To be eligible for selection, student-athletes must have completed at least one academic term at the member institution while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better, and be a starter or significant contributor on their athletic team.

A total of 384 student-athletes were named to the Fall 2009 Academic All-Mountain West Conference team. Fall sports include men's and women's cross country, football, women's soccer and women's volleyball. New Mexico had 50 student-athletes receive the honor.