Lobo Women Capture NMSU Kachina Classic Title
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  09/19/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Sept. 19, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The No. 22 University of New Mexico women's cross country team placed its five scoring runners in the top-10 en route to a 29-33 victory over UTEP this morning at New Mexico State's Kachina Classic. For the first time in his tenure, third-year head coach Joe Franklin sent his top women's runners to the NMSU Golf Course, but held out several of his top runners from the 26th-ranked men's team, which finished second behind UTEP (31-52).

As they've done for the past two seasons, the New Mexico women used a tight pack to dominate the top-10 in the 5K race. Junior transfer Ruth Senior (18:17.1), senior Ashley Gibson (18:28.0), and sophomore Lacey Oeding (18:33.7) finished 3-4-5. Senior Nicky Archer was seventh (18:43.0) in her season debut, while junior Vanessa Ortiz was 10th (19:01.4) to cap the scoring. The Lobos' top five runners were separated by just 45 seconds.

Senior David Bishop continued his strong early season running with a second place finish in the men's 8K, crossing the line in 26:02.0 - 50 seconds behind Dine College standout Nicolas Kipruto. Redshirt freshman Allen Pittman joined Bishop in the top-10, finishing ninth with a time of 26:55.2. Junior Brian Vallie was 14th (27:15.7), sophomore Patrick Ortiz was 17th (27:23.0), and sophomore Cory Kalm was 23rd (27:56.5) to cap the Lobos' official scoring.

UNM ran several runners unattached, however, including top-10 finishers Ross Millington (fifth) and Brock Hagerman (seventh). Alex Willis (13th) and Sean Stam (16th) also would have scored for New Mexico had they been wearing the cherry and silver.

New Mexico will send its top teams on both sides to Notre Dame on Oct. 2 when it begins its NCAA Championship qualifying push.

UTEP - 31
UNM - 52
NMSU - 59
Dine - 102
EPCC - 139

UNM - 29
UTEP - 33
NMSU - 72
EPCC - 99
Dine - no team score