Lobos Head to NCAA West Regionals May 17-19
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/07/2007
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 7, 2007

  • Complete NCAA Tournament Field

    The University of New Mexico men's golf team has been selected to participate in the 2007 NCAA West Regionals, announced by the NCAA Division I men's golf committee this afternoon. The 2007 NCAA West Regionals are hosted by Arizona State University and held at the ASU Karsten Course in Tempe, Ariz. Competition is set for May 17-19 and live scoring will be available via GoLobos.com.

    New Mexico is seeded 17th out of 27 teams at the NCAA West Regionals. Only the top-10 squads from each Regional advance to the NCAA Championships. Three regional tournaments, encompassing the current nine sub-regions, will be conducted May 17-19. A total of 27 teams and six individuals not on selected teams were assigned to each regional site. Ten teams and two individuals not on advancing teams will move on from each regional to the championship finals. This will be the Lobos' second trip to the ASU Karsten Course this season. UNM finished eighth at the 16-team ASU Thunderbird Invitational on April 13-15. Senior Charlie Beljan led UNM with a career best 15-under total of 201 (66-67-68) to win the individual race. Sophomore Steve Saunders also had a solid showing, posting a 1-under 215 (71-67-77) to tie for 23rd.

    The Lobos finished in sixth place at the 2007 Mountain West Conference Championships with Beljan taking home Player of the Year honors for the conference. Saunders was the highest-placing Lobo at the MWC Tournament, posting a 3-under 210 (73-68-69) to tie for fourth overall.

    New Mexico is looking to get back to the NCAA Championships as a full team for the first time since the 2005 season. UNM qualified for the Regionals 2006, but after tying for 12th place, did not advance to the NCAAs last season. This year's NCAAs are hosted by Virginia Commonwealth University and held at the Golden Horseshoe Golf Club in Williamsburg, Va., on May 30- June 2.

  • E-News