Coetzee Falls In Finals To No. 1 Dorsch At HEB Baylor Collegiate
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  09/29/2003

Sept. 29, 2003

WACO, Texas - Senior Divan Coetzee, seeded 10th, fell in the gold singles finals, 6-3, 6-4, to the tournament and national No . 1 seeded Benedikt Dorsch of Baylor at the HEB Men's Intercollegiate Tournament last weekend. On his way to the finals, Coetzee downed two other seeded opponents in No. 4 Scott Schnugg of Georgia Tech (6-0, 6-0) and No. 7 Andrians Zguns from Arkansas (6-2, 4-6, 6-4).

Classmate Jasmin Hodzic and juniors David Kowalski and Ryan Stotland also competed in the gold division. Kowalski advanced to the round of 32 after netting a 6-1, 6-1win over Texas' Garrett Snyder. Kowalski fell in three sets to Arkansas's Nathan Price in the round of 32, 6-2, 6-7, 7-5. Hodzic fought hard against the No. 8 seeded Clayton Almeida of Winthrop but fell 7-5, 4-6, 6-3 in the round of 64. Stotland dropped a close match (3-6, 6-1, 6-4) in the round of 64 to Brown's Nick Goldberg for his first singles loss of the season.

In the green singles division, sophomores Eric Conklin, Henry Gers, Nick Ames and freshman Hiroud Akhavan had strong showings. Akhavan advanced to the final round, which was not played, after conviningly defeating Texas Arlington's Petri Van Rensburg, Georgia Tech's Marko Rajevac, Texas-San Antionio's Robert Kirchner and UTA's Buksik.

Conklin defeated Lamar's Jonathan Capps, 6-1,6-2, in the round of 16 before falling in the quarterfinals to Texas-Arlington's Ian Vasquez-Row, 6-2, 6-2. Gers and Ames both advanced to the quarterfinals after getting byes in the first round and beating Georgia Tech's Zachary Rath, 6-7, 6-4, 6-3, and Texas Tech's Teddy Diblasi, 6-2, 6-0, respectively. Gers fell in the quarters to Witchita State's Juan Escanlante, 6-3, 6-3, while Ames fell to Texas-Arlington's Niels Buksik, 6-3, 6-7, 7-5.

In doubles action, the tandem of Akhavan and Coetzee advanced to the finals which were not played. The duo would have faced Baylor's Dorsch and Ivor Lovrak. The team of Hodzic and Gers advanced to the semifinals before falling 8-6 to Dorsch and Lovrak.

Select members of the Lobos will be competing in the ITA All-American National Tournament from Oct. 3-12 in Chattanooga, Tenn. The Lobos will also host the Balloon Fiesta Invite Oct. 10-12.


Men's Gold Singles
Round of 64
No. 8 Clayton Almeida (Winthrop) d. Jasmin Hodzic (UNM) 7-5, 4-6 ,6-3
David Kowalski (UNM) d. Garrett Snyder (Texas) 6-1, 6-1
Nick Goldberg (Brown) d. Ryan Stotland (UNM) 3-6, 6-1, 6-4
No. 10 Divan Coetzee (UNM) d. Marek Dvorak (Colorado) 6-2, 6-0
Round of 32
Nathan Price (Arkansas) d. David Kowalski (UNM) 6-1, 6-1
No. 10 Divan Coetzee (UNM) d. Sandy Farguharson (UTA) 7-5, 6-3Z
Round of 16
No. 10 Divan Coetzee (UNM) d. No. 4 Scott Schnugg (Georgia Tech) 6-0, 6-0
Quarterfinal Round
No. 10 Divan Coetzee (UNM) d. Eughenii Corduneanu (Louisiana-Lafayette) 6-3, 6-3
Semifinal Round
No. 10 Divan Coetzee (UNM) d. No. 7 Andrians Zguns (Arkansas) 6-2, 4-6, 6-4
Final Round
No. 1 Benedikt Dorsch (Baylor) d. No. 10 Divan Coetzee (UNM) 6-3, 6-4
Consolation Round
Roman Borvanov (Portland) d. Jasmin Hodzic (UNM) 2-6, 6-3, 6-2
Consolation Round Two
Ryan Stotland (UNM) d. Bojan Szumanski (Texas Tech) 6-4, 1-6, 6-1
David Kowalski (UNM) d. Jason Gould (Baylor) 6-4, 6-2
Consolation Round Three
Gonculo Figueiredo (TA&MCC) d. Ryan Stotland (UNM) 6-3, 6-7, 7-6
David Kowalski (UNM) d. David Placencia (TA&MCC) 6-0, 6-1
Consolation Round Four
Jeremy Blandin (TA&MCC) d. David Kowalski (UNM) 6-4, 6-1

Men's Gold Doubles
Round of 32
Henry Gers/Jasmin Hodzic (UNM) d. Quinn Borchard/Roman Borvanov (Portland) 8-6
Haroud Akhavan/Divan Coetzee (UNM) d. No. 6 Benjamin Becker/Matija Zgaga (Baylor) 8-5
Nick Ames/Eric Conklin (UNM) d. Shaun Ellison/Ivan Kovalov (ULL) 8-3
Jonas Hoglund/Robert Kirchner (UTSA) d. No. 2 David Kowalski/Ryan Stotland (UNM) 8-5
Round of 16
Henry Gers/Jasmin Hodzic (UNM) d. No. 5 Jacob Martin/Alex Menichini (TCU) retired
Haroud Akhavan/Divan Coetzee (UNM) d. Niels Buksik/David Corrie (UTA) 8-1
Jason Gould/Jon Reckewey (Baylor) d. Nick Ames/Eric Conklin (UNM) 8-6
Quarterfinal Round
Henry Gers/Jasmin Hodzic (UNM) d. No. 3 Guilllaume Bouvier/Thomas Schoeck (Boise State) 8-6
Haroud Akhavan/Divan Coetzee (UNM) d. No. 4 Jaime Cerretani/Nick Goldberg (Brown) 8-0
Semifinal Round
No. 1 Benedikt Dorsch/Ivor Lovrak (Baylor) d. Henry Gers/Jasmin Hodzic (UNM) 8-6
Haroud Akhavan/Divan Coetzee (UNM) d. Jason Gould/Jon Reckewey (Baylor) 8-1

Men's Green Singles
Round of 32
Hiroud Akhavan (UNM) d. Petri Van Rensburg (UTA) 6-0, 6-2
Round of 16
Eric Conklin (UNM) d. Jonathan Capps (Lamar) 6-1, 6-2
Henry Gers (UNM) d. Zachary Rath (Georgia Tech) 6-7, 6-4, 6-3
Nick Ames (UNM) d. Teddy Diblasi (TTU) 6-2, 6-0
Hiroud Akhavan (UNM) d. Marko Rajevac (Georgia Tech) 6-4, 6-1
Quarterfinal Round
Ian Vasquez-Row (UTA) d. Eric Conklin (UNM) 6-2. 6-2
Juan Escanlante (WSU) d. Henry Gers (UNM) 6-3, 6-3
Niels Buksik (UTA) d. Nick Ames (UNM) 6-3, 6-7, 7-5
Hiroud Akhavan (UNM) d. Robert Kirchner (UTSA) 6-2, 6-2