Moore Picked For Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  08/19/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Aug. 19, 2004

New Haven, Conn. - The Walter Camp Football Foundation announced the names of 40 "players to watch" for its prestigious Player of the Year award, the nation's fourth-oldest individual college football accolade. The elite list included University of New Mexico junior tailback DonTrell Moore, a two-time unanimous first team all-Mountain West Conference honoree. Moore was the only player in the MWC selected to the watch list. Moore begins his junior season ranked No. 4 all-time at New Mexico with 2,584 career rushing yards. After gaining a school-record 1,450 yards in 2003, Moore is 1,278 yards shy of Mike Williams' Lobo record of 3,862 set from 1975-78. The watch list will be narrowed to ten semi-finalists in early November. The 2004 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 117 Division I-A head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on February 13, 2005 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven. Last year's recipient was University of Pittsburgh wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald, the first-ever sophomore to capture the honor. Fitzgerald is currently a member of the Arizona Cardinals. Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp - a former Yale University athlete and football coach - is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation - a New Haven-based all-volunteer group - was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team. UNM opens its season by hosting Pac-10 power Washington State on Friday, Sept. 3. The game will be nationally-televised by ESPN. Single game tickets go on sale on Monday, Aug. 23 at 8:30 a.m. Tickets will be available online at unmtickets.com, by calling (505) 925-5858, at the UNM athletic ticket office at The Pit, at the box office at the UNM Bookstore and at all Raley's and Western Wearhouse locations. Call (505) 925-5626 for more information.

2004 Walter Camp Player of the Year "Watch List"

Marion Barber III, RB, Minnesota Cedric Bensen, RB, Texas Josh Bullocks, LB, Nebraska Timmy Chang, QB, Hawaii Patrick Cobbs, RB, North Texas Dan Cody, DE, Oklahoma Mark Clayton, WR, Oklahoma P.J. Daniels, RB, Georgia Tech Anthony Davis, RB, Wisconsin Braylon Edwards, WR, Michigan David Greene, QB, Georgia Matt Grotegoed, LB, USC Tramain Hall, RB, North Carolina State A.J. Hawk, LB, Ohio State Matt Herian, TE, Nebraska Derrick Johnson, LB, Texas Kevin Kolb, QB, Houston Chris Leak, QB, Florida Matt Leinart, QB, USC Jermelle Lewis, RB, Iowa Geoff McArthur, WR, California DonTrell Moore, RB, New Mexico Lance Moore, WR, Toledo Dan Orlovsky, QB, Connecticut Kyle Orton, QB, Purdue David Pollack, DE, Georgia Walter Reyes, RB, Syracuse Chris Rix, QB, Florida State Aaron Rodgers, QB, California Antrel Rolle, DB, Miami (Fla.) Brad Smith, QB, Missouri Darren Sproules, RB, Kansas State Justin Vincent, RB, LSU Andrew Walter, QB, Arizona State Corey Webster, DB, LSU Jason White, QB, Oklahoma Charlie Whitehurst, QB, Clemson DeAngelo Williams, RB, Memphis Carnell Williams, RB, Auburn Vincent Young, QB, Texas