Lobos Host 50th Annual William H. Tucker Invitational Friday and Saturday
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  09/28/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Sept. 28, 2004


Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The University of New Mexico men's golf team will host the 19-team 50th annual William H. Tucker Invitational at the University Championship Golf Course on Friday-Saturday, October 1-2. Action begins on Friday with a 36-hole shotgun start beginning at 7:30 a.m. and concludes Saturday with the final 18-holes with tee times starting at 7:30 a.m. Live results can be found at www.golfstat.com.

OPENING DRIVE: The University of New Mexico men's golf team hosts the 50th annual William H. Tucker Invitational at the University Championship Golf Course. The Lobos are currently ranked seventh in the latest Coaches Poll. Head coach Glen Millican will have Jay Reynolds, Miguel Griego, Charlie Beljan, Madalitso Muthiya and Spencer Levin playing on the five man team, while Mark Anderson and Jeb Gruenberger will play as individuals. A shotgun start will begin on Friday at 7:30 a.m., with tee times on Saturday at 7:30 a.m.

THE COURSE: The William H. Tucker will be played at the 7,350 yard, par-72 University Championship Course.

RESULTS: The results can be found on the University of New Mexico website at www.golobos.com. or on the golfstat website at www.golfstat.com

WILLIAM H. TUCKER FIELD: The 50th annual William H. Tucker field will be made up of some of the top teams in the country including Arizona, BYU, Wichita State and Texas A&M, who all played in the 2004 NCAA Championships. BYU ,Arizona and UNLV were all ranked in the latest Coaches Poll. The whole field is as follows: Air Force, Arizona, BYU, Colorado State, Fresno State, Hawaii, Nevada (Reno), New Mexico State, San Diego State, Texas A&M, UNLV, Baylor, UTEP, North Carolina, Texas Tech, Colorado, Wichita State and Arkansas. Individually in the field will be the top two ranked individuals in the country with number one Ryan Moore of UNLV and number two Spencer Levin of New Mexico. Moore is the defending NCAA Champion and won the U.S. Pub Links and U.S. Amateur this summer. Levin won low amateur honors at the U.S. Open this summer. Moore and Levin are also the two members of the U.S. World Amateur team.