Lobos Collect Eight First-Place Finishes at Tailwind Invitational
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/02/2011
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 2, 2011

Complete Results

The University of New Mexico track and field team hosted the Tailwind Invitational this past Friday and Saturday. The squad collected eight first-place finishes on Saturday as 11 teams joined the Lobos at the Great Friends of UNM Track Stadium.

Emma Reed opened the running events Saturday with a top finish in the women's 3,000-meter steeplechase, claiming first place with a time of 11:31.25. Sarah Higgens followed in second-place, running the event in 11:40.89.

Shawna Winnegar led the Lobos in the women's 1,500-meter run, finishing in first place with a time of 4:42.33. Nicola Hood crossed the finish line in 4:46.56 for sixth place, followed by Delyth James in seventh (4:46.87) and Vanessa Ortiz in ninth place (4:48.65).

In the women's 100-meter hurdles, Precious Selmon finished first for New Mexico with a final time of 13.62. Shirley Pitts claimed second place in the 400-meter dash (55.94) and was followed by Tawsha Brazley in fifth-place (56.99).

Deanna Young clinched a first-place finish in the women's triple jump, while reaching a distance of 43-2.50 (13.17 meters).

Alesha Walker ran the 100-meter dash in 11.81, good for a third-place finish. Teammate Kayla Fisher-Taylor finished in fifth place with a mark of 11.97. Fisher-Taylor led the Lobos in the 200-meter dash with a second-place finish and a time of 24.65. Shirley Pitts ran the event in 24.72 for fourth place.

Senior Brian Wilson finished second for UNM in the men's 110-meter hurdles, finishing with a time of 14.89. Fellow Lobos Chad Clark ran the event in 15.75 (seventh place)and Sam Potter had a time of 15.89 (10th place).

The Lobos had a impressive showing in the men's 400-meter hurdles as they swept five of the top eight spots. Leading the way was Charles Lewis in second place with a time of 53.17. He was followed by Yusuf Muhammad in third (53.66), Chad Clark in fifth place (54.90), Josh Lovato in sixth place (55.72) and Derek Halladay in seventh place (56.42).

In the men's field events, Kendall Spencer claimed first place in the long jump with a distance of 24-9.25 (7.55 meters). David Brown and Zach Smith finished third (24-4.75) and fourth (23-2.50), respectively.

Logan Pfibsen finished in first place in the men's pole vault, clearing a height of 16-2.75 (4.95 meters). Teammate Chris Dodds placed third (15-3, 4.65 meters).

In the men's triple jump, Warrick Campbell also collected a first-place finish for the Lobos, leaping to a distance of 51-0 (15.54 meters). Fellow Lobo David Brown immediately followed in second place with a mark of 48-1.25 (14.66 meters).

Matthew Henry-Marshall recorded a discus throw of 156-7 (47.74 meters) to also claim a first-place finish for the New Mexico squad.

The Lobos return to action next weekend as they travel to the Sun Angels Classic in Tempe, Ariz. and the Texas Relays in Austin, Texas.

Other impressive Lobo performances:

- Thomas Trujillo placed second in the 100-meter dash (10.77), Derek Montoya finished fifth (10.85)
- Alex Darling claimed second-place in the 800-meter run (2:14.11)
- In the 400-meter hurdles, Kim Perkins placed third (1:02.62)
- The women's 4x400-meter relay team finished third; Pitts, Kim Perkins, Brazley and Rachel Kelchner (3:48.76)
- The men's 4x400-meter relay squad placed second; Thomas Trujillo, Derek Montoya, Campbell, and Charles Lewis (3:14.53)
- Michael Ellis finished third in the javelin throw with a distance of 55.22 meters (181-2)
- Amber Menke and Margo Tucker finished second and third, respectively, in the women's pole vault based on a judges decision. Both cleared a height of 13-0.75.
- Allen Pittman finished fifth in the men's 3,000-meter run (8:49.37)