Ski Team in Third at New Mexico Invite
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/11/2005
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 11, 2005

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The University of New Mexico Ski Team raced to a third-place finish in a weather-shortened first day of the UNM Invite at Taos and Red River, N.M. The men's giant slalom was cancelled due to bad weather and poor visibility. The women's Nordic team won their 5K Classic race, with senior Martina Stursova winning her second race of the season.

The Lobo Nordic squad, competing at Enchanted Forest Ski Area in Red River, N.M., took home 148 points in the men's and women's Classic races. Stursova dominated the women's 5K race, finishing in 17:46.8, the sixth win of her career. Lobo junior Trine Lundamo placed second with a time of 18:05.9. Senior Andrea Roberts rounded out UNM's scoring with a 10th place showing. Other Lobo women skiing included senior Pirkko Pulkkanen (11th) and freshman Tiffany Callahan.

The Nordic men scored a third place showing in their 10K, their best finish in a Classic race this season. Junior Geir-Endre Rogn led UNM with a season-high sixth-place finish. Sophomore Dirk Grimm also scored a season-best showing with his eighth-place finish. Freshman Inge Kristofferson completed the Lobo scoring with his 11th place finish. Sophomore Jedd Young was the only other Lobo to race, placing 30th overall.

The Alpine women managed to squeeze in their giant slalom race early in the day. The Lobos were led by senior Helena Woodrow's 14th place time. Also scoring for UNM were freshman Lene Kaasa (21st) and junior Gladys Weidt (26th). Freshman Staci Rixford (27th), junior Kathrin Spendier (41st), freshman Jessica Burns (66th) and junior Jennifer Shively (DNF) also skied for New Mexico today, but did not score.

UNM scored a total of 190 points today and trails Denver (219) and Colorado (223) in the overall standings. The Nordic teams will compete in 5/10K Freestyle races tomorrow at Red River, N.M., while the Alpine teams will compete in Slalom races at Taos.