Cross Country Head Coach Joe Franklin Receives NCAA Mountain Region Coach of the Year for Both Men and Women
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  11/17/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Nov. 17, 2010

NEW ORLEANS, La.--- The University of New Mexico cross country head coach Joe Franklin received the NCAA Mountain Region Coach of the Year, announced earlier today. The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Wednesday the winners of USTFCCCA Region Athletes and Coaches of the Year honors for the 2010 cross country season in Division I as voted by the division's coaches. The award also puts Franklin in the running for NCAA Coach of the Year.

In his third year, Joe Franklin's Lobos won the NCAA Mountain Regional for the first time in school history by placing four runners in the race's top seven and claiming a 21-point tally over Colorado. The fifth-ranked New Mexico team won their second-straight Mountain West title earlier this fall and was the runners-up at the Notre Dame Invitational (blue race) and third at the Roy Griak Invitational (gold race).

The Mountain Region Coach of the Year will next take his Lobos on the road to Terre Haute, Ind. Indiana State will host the NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships on Monday at the LaVern Gibson Championship Course located at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center. The women's race will begin at approximately 12:08 p.m. Eastern, followed by the men's race at approximately 12:48 p.m.

USTFCCCA Region Coaches of the Year Website