LoboTV
Senior Willy Kesler Earns Mountain West Conference Co-Pitcher of the Week
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/26/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 26, 2010

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Senior right-handed pitcher Willy Kesler has been named the Mountain West Conference Co-Pitcher of the Week as announced by the conference office. This is the first career award for the Thornton, Colo., native. Kesler threw UNM's first complete-game shutout since 2007 in a 6-0 victory over Air Force on April 25. Kesler scattered five hits over nine innings with five strikeouts while walking none.

"As the game went on I hit my spots," said Kesler. "I used my mechanics to get me through instead of trying to force things. It's my senior season and I'm having fun."

This was Kesler's second complete game of the season and his first shutout at New Mexico. He is the first pitcher to throw two complete games in the same season since 2008. In the 6-0 victory, Kesler blanked an Air Force team that put up 36 runs in three games against league-leading TCU.

Kesler shares this week's award with San Diego State's Addison Reed.

Tuesday, March 31
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 18
3:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 19
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Tuesday, April 21
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. New Mexico State
E-News