LoboTV
0
0
0
0
Senior Willy Kesler Earns Mountain West Conference Co-Pitcher of the Week
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/26/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 26, 2010

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Senior right-handed pitcher Willy Kesler has been named the Mountain West Conference Co-Pitcher of the Week as announced by the conference office. This is the first career award for the Thornton, Colo., native. Kesler threw UNM's first complete-game shutout since 2007 in a 6-0 victory over Air Force on April 25. Kesler scattered five hits over nine innings with five strikeouts while walking none.

"As the game went on I hit my spots," said Kesler. "I used my mechanics to get me through instead of trying to force things. It's my senior season and I'm having fun."

This was Kesler's second complete game of the season and his first shutout at New Mexico. He is the first pitcher to throw two complete games in the same season since 2008. In the 6-0 victory, Kesler blanked an Air Force team that put up 36 runs in three games against league-leading TCU.

Kesler shares this week's award with San Diego State's Addison Reed.

Sunday, April 19
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Tuesday, April 21
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. New Mexico State
Friday, April 24
5:30 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
Saturday, April 25
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
Sunday, April 26
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
Friday, May 01
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, May 02
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Sunday, May 03
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, May 05
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at New Mexico State
Friday, May 08
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Saturday, May 09
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Sunday, May 10
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Tuesday, May 12
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Arizona State
Thursday, May 14
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Friday, May 15
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
E-News