LoboTV
Daniel Stovall Named Mountain West Baseball Player of the Week
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/19/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 19, 2004

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Freshman first baseman Daniel Stovall has been named the Mountain West Baseball Player of the Week, the conference office announced Monday afternoon.

Stovall batted .800 (12-for-15) in three games in leading New Mexico to a sweep of Air Force this past weekend. The freshman belted three homers and three doubles, good for a 1.600 slugging percentage and .765 on-base percentage. He also drove in seven runs and scored four times.

The Midland, Texas, native went 4-for-4 with a solo homer and two runs in UNM's 10-5 series opening win on Friday. On Saturday, Stovall went 5-for-6 with two homers, five RBI and two runs scored. In Sunday's finale, he went 3-for-5 with an RBI.

Stovall led the Lobos in an impressive offensive display, as UNM tallied 59 runs, 63 hits and 17 homers in the three-game series. New Mexico scored a school and Mountain West record 31 runs in Saturday' s 31-11 rout of Air Force, and the Lobos slugged eight homers in Sunday's 18-6 victory, which was the second most in a single game in UNM history and a Mountain West record.

The Lobos (15-19-1) have won eight of their last nine Mountain West games to improve to 11-4 in the conference, good for second place. They place first place UNLV (11-3) in a three-game series in Las Vegas this weekend (April 23-25).

Saturday, April 19
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Josť St.
Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
E-News