LoboTV
0
0
0
0
Jason Fernandez Named Mountain West Pitcher of the Week
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/01/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 1, 2004

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Junior right-hander Jason Fernandez (Albuquerque, N.M.) was named the Mountain West Pitcher of the Week, the conference office announced this afternoon.

Fernandez, in his first career UNM start, fired a six-hit complete game in New Mexico's 3-1 win over previously undefeated Arkansas on Friday, Feb. 27 at the Domino's Pizza Aggie Classic in College Station, Texas. The Razorbacks, who were ranked No. 28 in the Sports Weekly/ESPN Coaches Poll and averaging 11.3 runs per game, could not handle Fernandez, who only allowed eight base runners all game. He finished with four strikeouts and just two walks. Facing his biggest jam of the day with the bases loaded in the bottom of the eighth inning, Fernandez struck out the No. 3 batter and got the cleanup hitter to ground into a force out.

The New Mexico baseball team returns to action this weekend (March 5-7) for a three-game series vs. UC Santa Barbara at Isotopes Park. Friday and Saturday's game are set for 6 p.m., while Sunday will begin at 1 p.m.

Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 18
3:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 19
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Tuesday, April 21
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. New Mexico State
Friday, April 24
5:30 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
Saturday, April 25
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
Sunday, April 26
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Wichita State
Friday, May 01
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, May 02
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Sunday, May 03
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, May 05
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at New Mexico State
Friday, May 08
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Saturday, May 09
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Sunday, May 10
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Tuesday, May 12
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Arizona State
E-News