Lobos Open Spring at PING Arizona Intercollegiate
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  01/27/2007
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Jan. 27, 2007

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The University of New Mexico men's golf team travels to the PING Arizona Intercollegiate in Tucson, Ariz. The PING Arizona Intercollegiate will take place on Monday-Tuesday, January 29-30, with 36 holes on Monday and 18 holes on Tuesday beginning at 8:00 AM each day. Head coach Glen Millican will take senior Charlie Beljan, junior Robb Bierbaum and sophomores Steve Saunders, Dan Saltz and Nick Geyer with him to Arizona, along with sophomore Jacob Lestishen and Kyle Nielsen playing as individuals.

THE COURSE: The PING Arizona Intercollegiate will be played at the 6,900 yard, par-71 Arizona National Golf Club.

RESULTS: The results can be found on the University of New Mexico website at www.golobos.com. or on the Arizona website at www.arizonaathletics.com. Live scoring will be available at www.golfstat.com.

PING ARIZONA INTERCOLLEGIATE FIELD: The PING Arizona Intercollegiate will be made up of Arizona State, BYU, Cal, UC-Irvine, East Tennessee State, Long Beach State, Loyola Marymount, New Mexico, New Mexico State, Oregon, Pepperdine, UTEP, Tennessee, UNLV, Arizona and Arizona JV.

BELJAN NAMED TO HOGAN WATCH LIST: Charlie Beljan was named to the 2007 Ben Hogan Award watch list announced by the Colonial Country Club and The Friends of Golf (FOG) in cooperation with the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA). The most prestigious award in men's college golf, The Hogan is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or junior college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the last 12 months.

The Hogan Award selection committee will announce 10 semi-finalists out of the 23 watch list on April 4 and name three finalists on May 2. The three finalists will attend The Hogan Award banquet on May 22 at Colonial Country Club - the Tuesday prior to the Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial - with the recipient announced that evening.