Nelson MWC Coach of Year; Meeter, Hadfield, Michaelsen, Buck All-MWC
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  11/29/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Nov. 30, 2010

All\-MWC\ Volleyball\:\ Full\ Release

Lobo coach Jeff Nelson, who pushed his New Mexico volleyball team into the NCAA postseason for the second straight year and to the No. 2 spot in the league, was named the 2010 Mountain West Conference Coach of The Year Tuesday.

Nelson was joined in receiving MWC postseason honors by seniors Lisa Meeter, Jade Michaelsen, Taylor Hadfield and junior Allison Buck.

Michaelsen was named the conference Setter of the Year, while Buck shared Libero of the Year honors with Keisha Fisher from Utah.

The MWC All-Conference team was selected by the league's nine head coaches.

Nelson grabbed MWC Coach of Year honors for the first time in his career at UNM. He led the Lobos to their third straight 20-win season (20-9) and a second-place finish in the league standings behind CSU. It is the highest MWC finish in program history for the Lobos and the 12 wins in Mountain West play is a team record (12-4). New Mexico also earned its second consecutive NCAA Tournament at-large bid in 2010.

Michaelsen was named to the All-MWC team for the third consecutive year. Both Hadfield and Meeter, who was the conference Freshman of the Year in 2007, make their second appearance on the conference postseason honor roll. This is Buck's first time receiving postseason conference honors.

Colorado State's Danielle Minch was the league's Player of The Year, BYU's Stephanie Snow was Newcomer of The Year, and Utah's Morgan Odale named Freshman of the Year.

CSU's Minch was Player of The Year for the second consecutive time. She is the fourth player in league history to repeat. Minch helped lead the Rams to the eighth MWC title and an automatic bid in the NCAA Tournament.

The rest of the All-MWC team consists of TCU's Christy Hudson, Utah's Karolina Bartkowiak CSU's Minch, Megan Plourde and Evan Sanders, BYU's Stephanie Snow, San Diego State's Andrea Hannasch, TCU's Irene Hester, UNLV's Sara Nehf, Utah's Keisha Fisher and Erin Redd, and Wyoming's Jodi Purdy.

The Lobos open NCAA play at 8 p.m. (MT) at Southern California.

Kelly Williamson Named Academic All-American

The Lobos also picked up a national honor as Kelly Williamson was named Third Team CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America honors, becoming only the second Lobo volleyball player in school history to make that squad.

Kelly Williamson - Academic All-American

Williamson joined Adah Burke, who was a second team pick in 2004 as the only Lobo spikers to earn the prestigious honor. Kelly has been a part of three straight 20-win seasons with the Lobos, including two straight NCAA Tournaments. She also helped the Lobos to a 12-4 conference mark, the most Mountain West wins in school history.

Statistically, Kelly is third on the team in kills with 291, and third in kills per set with 2.83 Her 57 blocks are third on the team as well. However, it's outside the court that Kelly excels.

Owner of a 3.99 grade point average in conservation biology, the junior is a two-time MWC All-Academic, and she will earn a third when the team is announced in a few weeks. She is also a two-time Mountain West Scholar-Athlete, and she is a finalist for the University of New Mexico President's Award for her work in reducing team's carbon footprint. She is a senator in the UNM student government and member of the UNM Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. Over the summer she traveled to Nepal to build rain water systems for local schools.

"Kelly is the epitome of a student-athlete," said head coach Jeff Nelson. "She is a great person who has been outstanding on the court, in the classroom, and she is working to really make a difference. She is very deserving of this type of honor."

Complete Academic All-American TeamGet Acrobat Reader

Saturday, August 22
7:00 PM - 
vs. Alumnae (Exhibition)
Friday, August 28
8:00 AM - 
at Belmont
3:00 PM - 
at Albany
Saturday, August 29
5:00 PM - 
at Ball State