Charlie Beljan Named MWC Freshman of the Year
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/01/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 1, 2004

SUNRIVER, ORE. - The Mountain West Conference announced its 2004 men's golf all-conference team and individual awards at the conclusion of its championship today at the Crosswater Course at Sunriver Resort in Sunriver, Ore. UNLV sophomore Ryan Moore was selected as player of the year, while New Mexico's Charlie Beljan was named freshman of the year. Coach of the year honors went to Jamie Bermel of Colorado State.

New Mexico's Charlie Beljan garnered freshman of the year honors after posting a 74.14 stroke average (entering the MWC Championship) thisseason and recording four top 20 finishes. He tied for fifth at this at MWC Championship with a 54-hole total of three-under 213. Beljan also joined teammate Spencer Levin on the MWC All-Conference team.

Levin joined UNM at semester after transfering from UCLA. Levin earned Golf Week golfer of the week after winning the John Burns Intercollegiate at 11-under par. Levin this season has finished in the top 20 in all six tournaments he played in.

Ryan led the conference in stroke average at 69.69 entering the MWC Championship and ranked second in the nation among individuals according to GolfWeek.com. The junior from Puyallup, Wash., is a three-time All-MWC selection and a two-time All-American honoree. Moore collected his third collegiate victory at this week's Mountain West Championship and has eight top-five finishes in 11 events this year. He is a semifinalist for the Hogan Award, presented annually to the top collegiate player in men's golf and an award for which he was a finalist last year

Fifth year head coach Jamie Bermel of Colorado State captured coach of the year honors. Colorado State won five team titles during the 2003-04 season for the first time in school history. Colorado State's previous record for team wins in a single season was two (both the 1996- 97 and the 1990-91 seasons).

Player of the Year Ryan Moore, So., UNLV

Freshman of the Year Charlie Beljan, New Mexico

Coach of the Year Jamie Bermel, Colorado State

All-Conference Team Oscar Alvarez, So., BYU Jake Ellison, Fr., BYU Greg Machtaler, Jr., BYU Martin Laird, Sr., Colorado State Nolan Martin, Sr., Colorado State Charlie Beljan, Fr., New Mexico Spencer Levin, So., New Mexico Mark Warman, Sr., San Diego State Ryan Moore, Jr., UNLV Travis Whisman, Jr., UNLV Garrett Clegg, Sr., Utah