UNM Diving: Barras and Berghian Place In Top-25 In 3-Meter Event At Diving Zones
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/12/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 12, 2004

Oklahoma City, Okla. - Becca Barras (Kitchener, Ontario) and Tracey Berghian (Phoenix, Ariz.) competed well today in the 3-meter springboard event at the 2004 Diving Zone Meet in Oklahoma City, Okla. Coming off sixth and 13th place performances respectively in the 1-meter finals the day before, the duo came out strong in the 3-meter as well to round out the springboard events.

Barras had an outstanding fifth place finish with a score of 479.90, improving on last year's ninth place finish in the 3-meter dive. Berghian placed 15th out of the 31 divers with 404.45 points.

The Diving Zone Meet is scheduled to conclude tomorrow, Saturday, March 13 with the platform event. The meet marks the end of the season for the two UNM divers who garnered All-MWC first team honors and each clinched diving titles, Berghian in the 3-meter and Barras in the 1-meter and platform, at the MWC Championships in February. Berghian also received her second career Diver of the Year honor after her strong showing at the the championships.

Women's 3M Finals

Place Score Diver Affiliation

1 262.85 Mary Yarrison Arizona

2 277.80 Trisha Tumlinson Arizona State

3 237.15 Paige Thompson UCLA

4 254.25 Cassidy Krug Stanford

5 262.25 Becca Barras New Mexico

6 262.30 Ashlee Rosenthal Stanford

7 258.85 Qiong Jie Huang Hawai'i

8 199.90 Sara Bowling Stanford

9 229.55 Devon Owen Nevada

10 205.05 Jennifer Hess Arizona

11 233.65 Janine Strack UCLA

12 228.15 Jessica Stenson Arizona State

13 239.85 Maggie Roberts Hawai'i

14 228.45 Erin Lashnits Stanford

15 237.85 Tracey Berghian New Mexico

16 229.05 Amanda Blong UCLA

17 225.30 Sara Clark UCLA

18 223.70 Blair Buder Northern Arizona

19 209.55 Cassidy Farwell Arizona State

20 185.30 Nichole McLean UNLV

21 217.65 Daniela Bemme Arizona

22 196.30 Saara Haapanen Wyoming

23 179.35 Megan Chambers Arizona

24 217.80 Kristin Littell Nevada

25 183.20 Megan McDonald Arizona

26 183.80 Emily Keefer Wyoming

27 179.05 Anna Deem Northern Arizona

28 179.65 Jessica Field UNLV

29 191.45 Shea Boyle Wyoming

30 172.55 Jessica Gale Nevada

31 177.40 Frannie Brittle UC Irvine