LoboTV
Black Team Claims World Series With 8-5 Game Four Win
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  11/01/2005
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Oct. 31, 2005

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - The Black team rallied from a 5-0 deficit for an 8-5 victory in game four to claim the World Series title, 3-1. The series win marks the third consecutive year the Black team has won.

The Red team jumped out early with a five-run first inning. Junior Matt Foote led off with a single and was given second on sophomore Jordan Pacheco's walk. Junior Daniel Stovall doubled, drving in Foote. Senior Ryan Barba brought home Pacheco as he grounded out to second and senior Brandon Bingham laced a triple that brought in Stovall. Freshman Jordan Salazar singled to bring in Bingham and classmate Scott Gracey doubles, bringing home Salazar.

Freshman Max Willett put the Black team on the board in the third inning with a solo shot to left. A three-run fourth inning pulled the Black team within one. Freshman Derek Pilkington scored on a double from junior Chris Dabbs, who scored in the ver next at bat as freshman Dane Hamilton doubled. Willett sliced a double to center with two outs, bringing home Hamilton for the final run of the inning.

Willett drove in the tying run with a single in the sixth inning and then scored the go-ahead run on a three-run bomb to right by Pilkington.

Willett was 3-for-3 with three RBI while Pilkington was 3-for-4 with three RBI. Freshman Timothy McGuire hurled six innings for the Black team, allowing five runs on seven hits with two walks and three strikeouts for the win. Freshman Chad Itokazu tossed a no-hit inning of relief, striking out two for the save.

Foote and Bingham led the Red team, going 2-for-3 with a triple. Freshman Drew Kendrick suffered the loss, giving up three runs on one hit and a walk over two-thirds of an inning. Freshman Aaron Bates started for the Red team, allowing four runs on six hits with one walk and five strikeouts.

Monday, April 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Friday, April 25
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 26
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 27
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Friday, May 02
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Saturday, May 03
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego St.
Monday, May 05
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, May 09
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, May 10
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, May 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Thursday, May 15
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Friday, May 16
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, May 17
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
E-News