50 Lobos Awarded Academic All-MWC Honors For Fall 2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/11/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 11, 2010

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- The Mountain West Conference honored 50 University of New Mexico student-athletes with the Fall 2009 Academic All-Mountain West Conference Team honor today. The Lobos recorded the second-most honorees among the nine MWC members and upped their numbers by three.

A total of 384 student-athletes were named to the Fall 2009 Academic All-Mountain West Conference team. Fall sports include men's and women's cross country, football, women's soccer and women's volleyball. To be eligible for selection, student-athletes must have completed at least one academic term at the member institution while maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better, and be a starter or significant contributor on their athletic team.

Six of the Lobos honored are maintaining a 4.0 or better - women's cross country runners Lacey Oeding and Nicky Archer, women's soccer players Alexis Ball, Veronika Stnadova and Jael Fanning, and women's volleyball player Jordan Russell. 26 Lobos are repeat honorees.

Seniors Clint McPeek (football), Frankie Solomon (football) and Allie Suiter (volleyball) earned the honor for four straight years.

UNM Academic All-Mountain West Conference Team Honorees (Fall 2009)

Men's Cross Country
Chris Barnicle - Sr., Language, Literacy and Sociocultural Studies
* David Bishop - Sr., Sports Administration
** Lee Emanuel - Sr., Physical Education
* Rory Fraser - Sr., Sports Administration
Keith Gerrard - Jr., Physical Education
* Patrick Ortiz - So., University Studies
Allen Pittman - R-Fr., Psychology

Women's Cross Country
* Nicky Archer - Sr., Physical Education
** Carolyn Boosey - Sr., Physical Education
Laura Bowerman - Sr., Sports Administration
*Ashley Gibson - Jr., Physical Education
Delyth James - Jr., Physical Education
Janna Mitsos - Fr., Chemistry
* Lacey Oeding - So., Nutrition/Dietetics
Ruth Senior - Jr., Business Administration
Shawna Winnegar - Fr., Exercise Science

* James Aho - So., Biology
Chris Biren - Fr., Business Administration
Kasey Carrier - Fr., Undeclared
** Brad Gruner - So., Business Administration
Evan Jacobsen - Fr., Undeclared
Victor James - Sr., Secondary Education
*** Clint McPeek - Sr., Business Administration
Spencer Merritt - R-Fr., Undeclared
Cody Neely - Jr., Business Administration
*** Frankie Solomon - Sr., Business Administration
* Joshua Taufalele - Sr., University Studies
Nick Wilhelm - Jr., Criminology

Women's Soccer
** Alexis Ball - Jr., Biology
Gianna Cavuoto - So., Communications & Journalism
* Amanda Collins - So., Undeclared
Kelli Cornell - R-Fr., Undeclared
* Jael Fanning - So., Undeclared
** Rachel Fields - Jr., University Studies
Lauren Irwin - Fr., Undeclared
* Elizabeth Lambert - Jr., University Studies
Roxie McFarland - So., Undeclared
Rachel Montoya - Fr., Undeclared
* Jess Quador - Sr., Mass Communication
** Veronika Stnadova - Sr., Mathematics
* Kate Wyrick - Jr., University Studies

Women's Volleyball
* Allison Buck - So., Undeclared
** Lisa Meeter - Jr., Business Administration
** Jade Michaelsen - Jr., Business Administration
Rose Morris - Sr., Elementary Education
Ashley Rhoades - So., Undeclared
Jordan Russell - Fr., Undeclared
*** Allie Suiter - Sr., Exercise Science
* Kelly Williamson - So., Undeclared
Amy Wong - So., Business Administration

* = repeat honoree

Monday, August 17
7:00 PM - 
Women's Soccer
vs. Fort Lewis (exhibition)
Friday, August 21
5:00 PM - 
Women's Soccer
at USC vs. Texas Tech
7:30 PM - 
Women's Soccer
vs. Florida State
Sunday, August 23
10:30 AM - 
Women's Soccer
at USC vs. Florida State
1:00 PM - 
Women's Soccer
vs. Texas Tech
Wednesday, August 26
6:00 PM - 
Women's Soccer
at New Mexico State