LoboTV
Lobo Baseball Hosts Annual Cherry & Silver World Series
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  10/26/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Oct. 26, 2010

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. ---The University of New Mexico's baseball squad is set for its annual Cherry and Silver World Series, November 2-4 at Lobo Field. The Lobos will play a three-game series over the span of three days with each game going to seven innings. The players will compete to show Lobo head coach Ray Birmingham what they have worked on through the fall workouts.

"This will end one of our better fall practices that I've ever had while coaching here," Birmingham said. "The talent level this year is very exciting. We are a young team that is full of freshmen and sophomores, but a team that is talented enough to continue the tradition we are building here at UNM."

Two new members of the program, transfers D.J. Peterson and Kyle Stiner, will have their first competitive experience with the Lobos during the World Series. They are excited to be part of a program that fully appreciates their potential.

"We have coaches at UNM who care about you and make sure you are doing your work," Peterson said. "We have a very strong team chemistry and I'm sure our team will be very successful because of it."

The Lobos, who are coming off their first NCAA postseason appearance since 1962, have developed a program committed to the student athletes, creating an environment of support and success.

"The fall has been challenging with the workouts and juggling school," Stiner said. "The team has shown a lot of competition, and I think cherry and silver will be fun because of that. The team has bonded a lot which has been different from other places I have played. That is going to make us a tough team to beat come spring."

All games will begin at 2 p.m. at Lobo Field. Visit golobos.com for more information.

Friday, March 27
12 - 7 (W)
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Sunday, March 29
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Tuesday, March 31
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
E-News