LoboTV
Lobos Take Game One Behind Perkins' Complete Game Shutout
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/28/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 28, 2004

Box Score

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The New Mexico Lobos (10-7) took game one of a doubleheader at New Mexico State 6-0 behind the complete game shutout tossed by junior Ashley Perkins. This was Perkins third complete game shutout in her last four appearances.

Junior Cassie Chavez started the scoring with her second inning, lead-off home run to center. Freshman Amy Ray also led off the third inning with a homer to left field.

The Lobos added two more runs in the fourth as sophomore Stephanie Kennedy reached on an error by third baseman Cassandra Gonzales. Scoring on the error was Ray and senior Sabrina Sandberg.

Senior Kim Korsak gave the Lobos their final two runs in the seventh with her RBI single to left. Korsak advanced to second on an error by left fielder Amanda Carver, allowing Chavez and sophomore Iraina Ogas to score.

Chavez was 2-4 overall with two runs scored, one home run and one RBI. Ray was 2-3 with two runs score, one home run and one RBI as well. For the Aggies, Carver and Stacy Knight had the only two hits in the game.

For the win, Perkins (6-0) faced 23 batters in seven innings, allowing just two hits and striking out four. New Mexico State's Jennifer Bride suffered her tenth loss of the season. Bride pitched seven innings, facing 34 batters, giving up nine hits, two home runs, three earned runs, one walk and struck out five.

New Mexico and New Mexico state will play game two today at 4 p.m.

Thursday, April 02
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Friday, April 03
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, April 04
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, April 07
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
Wednesday, April 08
11:00 AM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
Friday, April 10
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Saturday, April 11
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Sunday, April 12
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Softball
at New Mexico State
Friday, April 24
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
Sunday, April 26
12:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
E-News