LoboTV
Lobos Take Game One Behind Perkins' Complete Game Shutout
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/28/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 28, 2004

Box Score

LAS CRUCES, N.M. - The New Mexico Lobos (10-7) took game one of a doubleheader at New Mexico State 6-0 behind the complete game shutout tossed by junior Ashley Perkins. This was Perkins third complete game shutout in her last four appearances.

Junior Cassie Chavez started the scoring with her second inning, lead-off home run to center. Freshman Amy Ray also led off the third inning with a homer to left field.

The Lobos added two more runs in the fourth as sophomore Stephanie Kennedy reached on an error by third baseman Cassandra Gonzales. Scoring on the error was Ray and senior Sabrina Sandberg.

Senior Kim Korsak gave the Lobos their final two runs in the seventh with her RBI single to left. Korsak advanced to second on an error by left fielder Amanda Carver, allowing Chavez and sophomore Iraina Ogas to score.

Chavez was 2-4 overall with two runs scored, one home run and one RBI. Ray was 2-3 with two runs score, one home run and one RBI as well. For the Aggies, Carver and Stacy Knight had the only two hits in the game.

For the win, Perkins (6-0) faced 23 batters in seven innings, allowing just two hits and striking out four. New Mexico State's Jennifer Bride suffered her tenth loss of the season. Bride pitched seven innings, facing 34 batters, giving up nine hits, two home runs, three earned runs, one walk and struck out five.

New Mexico and New Mexico state will play game two today at 4 p.m.

Friday, April 18
3:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Saturday, April 19
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Tuesday, April 22
2:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State (DH)
Wednesday, April 23
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State
Friday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Saturday, April 26
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Sunday, April 27
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Tuesday, April 29
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. NM State
Friday, May 02
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Saturday, May 03
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Thursday, May 15
TBA - 
Softball
at TBD
E-News