Alpine Team Opens DU Invite
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  01/12/2013
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Jan. 12, 2013

DU Invite - Alpine (GS) Get Acrobat Reader

WINTER PARK, Colo. -- The University of New Mexico Alpine team participated in its fifth day of competition in the last six days with the giant slalom in the opening day of the University of Denver Invitational in Winter Park, Colo., on Saturday. The Lobos tallied 171 points and sit in fifth place after one day of the Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association event.

Host Denver leads the meet with 253 points. Utah follows with 193 and Colorado is in third with 187 points. Montana State is slightly ahead of New Mexico with 178 points.

Senior Chris Acosta of Ashland, Wisc., led the Lobo men with a seventh-place finish. He tied with Westminster College's Simon Ruud with a total time of 2:02.41. It's his second top-10 finish of the week.

Sophomore Joonas Rasanen was next, placing 15th with a total time of 2:03.16. Sean Horner, also a sophomore, finished 17th with a 2:03.46. Acosta, Rasanen and Resaland accounted for 86 points for the Lobo men. Juno-Pekka Penttinen also completed two runs and placed 28th.

On the women's side, freshman Courtney Altringer led UNM with a ninth-place finish (2:05.93). It's the fifth top-10 finish in as many RMISA competitions for the Lobo newcomer.

Senior Kate Williams was next for UNM, coming in 12th (2:06.81) and Mary Rachel Hostetter rounded out the Lobo women, finishing 21st. The three combined for 85 points.

The Alpine team competes in the slalom portion of the DU Invite tomorrow in Eldora, Colo.

University of Denver - Day 1 (GS)

TEAM SCORES: 1. Denver (253 points); 2. Utah (192 points); 3. Colorado (187 points); 4. Montana State (178 points); 5. New Mexico (171 points); 6. Westminister (160 points); 7. Alaska Anchorage (141 points); 8. Colorado Mountain College (37 points)

WOMEN: 85 points -- 9. Courtney Altringer, 33 points (2:05.93); 12 Kate Williams, 29 points (2:06.81); 21. Mary Rachel Hostetter, 23 points (2:08.64)

MEN: 86 points -- T7. Chris Acosta, 34 points (2:02.41); 15. Joonas Rasanen, 27 points (2:03.16); 17. Sean Horner, 25 points (2:03.46); 28. Juho-Pekka Penttinen (2:07.05). Mark Miller and Chriss Salbu did not finish the first run. Michael Bansmer did not finish the second run.