New Mexico Cross Country Defends Mountain West Conference Championship Titles
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  10/29/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Oct. 29, 2010

Photo Gallery 

LARAMIE, Wyo.--- For the second straight year, it was all New Mexico at the Mountain West Conference cross country championships, as the Lobos swept the men's and women's titles on the host Cowboys' Jacoby Golf Course Friday morning.

Lobo head coach Joe Franklin led the 10th-ranked women's team to their third straight MWC championship and the 12th-ranked men's team to consecutive title No. 2. For his efforts, Franklin was recognized as the Women's MWC Coach of the Year.

"It was a great day for New Mexico cross country," Franklin said. "It was an excellent start to the championship season."

The women's team posted a mere 20 points en route to the team title, a whopping 40 better than second-place Colorado State (60). New Mexico saw its runners finish 1-2-3 in Natalie Gray (21:20.7), Sarah Waldron (21:32.9) and Ruth Senior (21:38.8).

BYU finished third with 72, while Air Force (132), Utah (139), Wyoming (141), San Diego State (214), UNLV (216) and TCU (219) rounded out the field.

Gray's performance in the 6K earned her MWC Cross-Country Female Athlete of the Year honors, as well as being named All-MWC First Team. Waldron and Senior, as well as teammate Vanessa Ortiz, joined Gray on the first team. Lobos Kirsty Milner and Delyth James were named to the second team.

The New Mexico's men's team's road to their repeat championship was a bit tougher, as the Lobos finished with 40 points to second-place BYU's 53. Air Force finished third with 68, followed by Wyoming (96), Colorado State (110) and TCU (166).

"The men were coming into today as underdogs," Franklin said. "But, they ran a phenomenal race."

Rory Fraser and Keith Gerrard led the Lobos to the team crown. Fraser had the fastest time for New Mexico, finishing fourth in the 8K with a time of 25:14.8. Teammate Keith Gerrard finished fifth at 25:15.4. Ross Millington made his Lobo season debut, placing eighth at 25:22.9, just in front of teammate David Bishop (25:29.4).

New Mexico saw five of its men's runners named to the All-Conference team. Fraser and Gerrard were named to the first team, while Millington and Bishop and Brock Hagerman were named to the second team.