LoboTV
Lobo Softball Falls to San Diego State, 7-2 in Opening Day of Conference Action
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/09/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 9, 2010

Box Score

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - The University of New Mexico softball team lost 7-2 to San Diego State in the Mountain West Conference opener, Friday evening at the SDSU Softball Stadium. The Lobos close out the weekend in Las Vegas, Nev. for two games on Saturday and Sunday, both games at 2 p.m. Mt. GameTacker will be provided for the rest of the games this weekend on GoLobos.com.

New Mexico remained scoreless until the top of the sixth when Cristin Anderson led off the inning with a walk. Then Danielle Castro walked to put batters on first and second with two outs. Katie Gilmore was next up to bat and singled up the middle to score Anderson to end the inning with UNM down 6-1.

Sophomore Shenise Cox hit her first home run of the season in the top of the seventh with one out. This is the second game back for Cox after being injured for much of the season and only being allowed to pinch run for the Lobos. With the run, New Mexico ended the game 7-2.

The Lobos got two runs off of two hits on Bailey Micetich, who was pitching in relief for the Aztecs. Kaela DeBroeck only gave up one earned run and struck out one in three innings of relief for New Mexico in the circle.

Brittany Knudson paced San Diego State going 2-for-3 with 2 runs, 2 RBIs, and a walk. Monica Alnes went 2-for-4 with a run and had the only extra base hit for the Aztecs with a double. Samantha Beasley (18-6) earned the win for San Diego State with 11 strikeouts. With the win, the Aztecs improved to 23-10 on the season and 1-0 in conference action.

Samantha Gatson received the loss for the Lobos in the circle and is now 3-8. New Mexico falls to 10-21 on the season and 0-1 in conference play.

Friday, March 27
7:00 PM - 
Softball
at UNLV
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Softball
at UNLV
Sunday, March 29
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at UNLV
Thursday, April 02
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Friday, April 03
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, April 04
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, April 07
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
Wednesday, April 08
11:00 AM - 
Softball
at Fresno State
Friday, April 10
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Saturday, April 11
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Sunday, April 12
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Colorado State
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Softball
at New Mexico State
Friday, April 24
5:00 PM - 
Softball
at San Diego State
E-News