Skiers Take Over 1st Place at NCAA Championships
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/12/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 12, 2004


The University of New Mexico Ski Team took over first place today in the 2004 NCAA Skiing Championships hosted by the University of Nevada in Donner Summit, Calif. The Lobos got strong performances from their Alpine team in the Slalom event today, with five of the six skiers earning All-American awards. New Mexico has 488 points after three days of the four-day event. The Lobos lead defending national champion Utah by 30.5 points, who slipped past Denver with 457.5 for second while the Pioneers have a total of 455 points.

The Lobo men's Alpine team had three impressive top-10's in today's Slalom event, taking home the men's Slalom team title. It is the 13th time the Lobos have brought home a team-event title in school history. Freshman Lars Loeseth placed third in the race, just 0.20 seconds behind winner Paul McDonald of Dartmouth and 0.07 seconds behind second-place Michael Rajcan of Nevada. Loeseth earned his second All-American award with the top-10 finish. Fellow freshman Peter Roering finished seventh in the race, also giving him another All-American award for this year's meet. The surprise finish of the meet was sophomore Christian Jensen's ninth place finish. It was just his third top-10 of the season and an 11-spot improvement from his 20th place showing last season. Jensen also earns All-American honors with the top-10 finish.

Sophomore Christian Jensen had a surprise ninth place finsh today.

The women's Alpine team recorded a pair of top-10 finishes in their Slalom race today. Junior Helena Woodrow earned her first All-American award by placing ninth, while sophomore Kathrin Spendier also earned her first All-American honor with a 10th place finish. Woodrow is competing in her first NCAA Championships, despite qualifying for the NCAA's in her first two years at New Mexico. Spendier improved on her 16th place finish in the Slalom in 2003. Senior Jennfier Delich placed 21st in today's Slalom race.

All six of the Lobo Alpine skiers have earned All-American awards, giving UNM nine All-Americans so far in 2004. It is the most All-Americans for the Lobos in one season in school history, with the Nordic Classic races still left.

The 2004 NCAA Championships conclude tomorrow with the Nordic Classic races. Junior Martina Stursova finished the regular season as the top-ranked women's Classic skier in the Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Association. Junior Lena Jensen ranked third in the Classic among the women while Geir Endre-Rogn ranked fourth in the RMISA among the men skiers.

"We are in a great position to get it done," stated head coach George Brooks who is in his 34th year at the helm of the Lobo Skiing program. He is the only head coach in the history of the Lobo Ski Team and is trying to bring home the first team national title in any sport in school history. The highest finish the Lobo athletic program has ever had was a second place showing at the 1992 NCAA Skiing Championships. "Speaking on behalf of our coaches and student-athletes we would love to bring home the first team title in school history, but we have a lot of work left to do. We are going to give it our best shot and if it happens, it happens."

Competition begins tomorrow on the Nordic trails at 10:00 a.m. (M.S.T.) at the Auburn Ski Club in Truckee, Calif. The men will be competing in a 20K classic race hile the women take part in a 15K race.

Team Standings (Through Day Three)

1. New Mexico 488
2. Utah 457.5
3. Denver 455
4.Vermont 423
5. Middlebury 396.5
6. Dartmouth 363
7. Colorado 357.5
8. Alaska Anchorage 319a
9. Nevada 258
10. Colby 210.5
11. Williams 164
12. Alaska-Fairbanks, 132
13. New Hampshire 130
14. Montana State 95
15. Western State 83
16. Northern Michigan 77
17. Boise State 67
18. Whitman 62
19. Bates 18
20. Harvard 17
21. Michigan Tech 2
22. UW-Green Bay 1

2004 Lobo All-Americans

Women's Giant Slalom
Jennifer Delich - National Champion

Men's Giant Slalom
Peter Roering
Lars Loeseth

Women's Freestyle
Martina Stursova
Trine Lundamo

Men's Freestyle
Geir-Endre Rogn

Women's Slalom
Helena Woodrow
Kathrin Spendier

Men's Slalom
Lars Loeseth
Peter Roering
Christian Jensen