Beljan Named MWC Men's Golf Player of the Year
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/28/2007
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 28, 2007

TUCSON, Ariz. - The Mountain West Conference announced its 2007 Men's Golf All-Conference team and individual awards at the conclusion of its championship today at the OMNI Tucson National Golf Course and Resort. New Mexico senior Charlie Beljan was selected as player of the year, while BYU's Rob Fillmore was named freshman of the year. Coach of the year honors went to Bruce Brockbank of BYU.

Beljan ranked fourth in the Mountain West Conference with a 70.69 stroke average. He recorded six top-10 finishes in 2006-07, including three tournament titles, and ranks 10th nationally according to GolfWeek.com. Beljan was named MWC Freshman of the Year in 2004 and is the first Lobo to capture conference golfer of the year accolades since Michael Letzig in 2003.

BYU's Rob Fillmore garnered freshman of the year honors after posting a 73.27 stroke average this season. Fillmore collected two top 10 finishes this season, including an eighth place outing at this year's MWC Championship. He is the second Cougar to capture MWC Freshman of the Year honors and the first since Daniel Summerhays in 2003.

BYU's Bruce Brockbank captured coach of the year honors for the second straight season after leading the Cougars to a top 20 national ranking according to both GolfStat.com and GolfWeek.com. This is Brockbank's third coach of the year honor since 1999.

Player of the Year
Charlie Beljan, Sr., New Mexico

Freshman of the Year
Rob Fillmore, BYU

Coach of the Year
Bruce Brockbank, BYU

All-Conference Team
Tyler Goulding, Sr., Air Force
Daniel Summerhays, Jr., BYU
Clay Ogden, Sr., BYU
Jake Ellison, Sr., BYU
Zen Brown, So., Colorado State
Charlie Beljan, Sr., New Mexico
Aaron Goldberg, Jr., San Diego State
Jarred Texter, Jr., UNLV
Seung-su Han, So., UNLV
Dustin Pimm, Jr., Utah
Robby Ormand, So., TCU