Lobo Football Announces End of the Year Awards
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  12/14/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Dec. 14, 2010

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- The University of New Mexico football team announced its end of the year awards Friday. The awards were given during the 2010 Lobo Football banquet was held at the Embassy Suites Hotel.

Below is a list of the 2010 winners.

Team Captains of the Year - Senior OT Byron Bell, Senior OG Mike Cannon and Senior DE Seth Johannemann

Red Menace Award - Senior FB Josh Fussell

Most Valuable Offensive Scout Award - Sophomore WR Lamaar Thomas

Most Defensive Scout Award - Sophomore S Matt Raymer

Chuck Cummings Award for Most Inspirational Player - Senior LB Cody Neely

Outstanding Offensive Lineman Award - Senior OT Byron Bell

Zia Award for the Most Valuable New Mexico Player - Senior WR Chris Hernandez

1st Team Award - Unselfish Devotion to Team - Senior WR Nick Wilhelm

Leading Tackler - Junior LB Carmen Messina

Outstanding Special Teams Player - Junior K James Aho

Clyde Hill Award for Most Improved Players - Senior FB Josh Fussell and Senior OG Karlin Givens

Reese Hill Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Offensive Player - Sophomore TE Lucas Reed

Colonel H.J. Golightly Award for Most Valuable Defensive Player - Senior DE Seth Johannemann

Bill Brannin Award for Most Valuable Player - Sophomore TE Lucas Reed