LoboTV
0
0
0
0
Texas State Tops Lobos, 2-0 In Series Opener
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/10/2006
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 10, 2006

Box Score

SAN MARCOS, Texas - The Texas State Bobcats (1-3) handed the New Mexico baseball team its first lose of the season with a 2-0 win in game one of the three-game series. The Lobos tried to rally with runners at first and second with no outs in the top of the ninth but couldn't connect, falling to 1-1 on the season.

The Bobcats got on the board in the fourth inning as Cassidy Dresch scored on a wild pitch from senior Nate Melek. One inning later, Dresch singled through the right side, driving in Pat Crumpton. Thomas Field also tried to score on the play but junior right fielder Chris Dabbs fired into freshman catcher Zach Arnett, who got the out at home plate.

Both teams collected four hits on the afternoon despite winds blowing in between 30-40 MPH. New Mexico was led by junior designated hitter Chris Carlson, who went 2-for-4. Junior left fielder Jay Russell and sophomore third baseman Ian Hollick collected the other Lobo hits. Dresch led the Bobcats going 2-for-4 with a RBI and run scored. Kyle Jones and Aaron Garza recorded the other two hits for Texas State.

TSU's Scott Moore earned his first win of the year, going 7.0 innings for three hits, two walks and eight strikeouts. Mike Hart threw 2.0 innings in relief, allowing one hit and one walk while striking out two. Melek suffered the loss for New Mexico, hurling a complete game. Melek surrendered just four hits, one earned run and one walk while fanning two.

The Lobos return to the field to take on Texas State tomorrow at 3 p.m. CT. Senior www.GoLobos.com.

Sunday, April 26
5 - 6 (L)
Baseball
at Wichita State
Friday, May 01
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Saturday, May 02
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Sunday, May 03
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Nevada
Tuesday, May 05
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at New Mexico State
Friday, May 08
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Saturday, May 09
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Sunday, May 10
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Josť State
Tuesday, May 12
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Arizona State
Thursday, May 14
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Friday, May 15
7:35 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Saturday, May 16
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at Fresno State
Wednesday, May 20
TBA - 
Baseball
at TBD
E-News