LoboTV
Lobo Softball Falls to No. 2 Arizona, 8-0
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/26/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 26, 2010

Box Score

ABLUQUERQUE, N.M. - The University of New Mexico softball team falls 8-0 in five innings to No. 2 Arizona, Friday evening at Lobo Field. Sophomore catcher Jessica Garcia led the Lobos going 1-for-2 with a stolen base. New Mexico will be back in action again against No. 2 Arizona Saturday at 1:00 p.m. MT at Lobo Field.

The Wildcats started the game strong when lead-off hitter Brittany Lastrapes blasted a home run in the top of the first inning. Arizona scored four more runs in the first off of three hits and two errors by the Lobos to lead 5-0.

Arizona scored three more runs off of three hits in the third inning to end the game in five innings, 8-0. Lauren Schutzler scored two RBIs in the third off of a double.

Danielle Castro went 1-for-1 as a pinch hitter and Kerry Hodgins drew two walks for the Lobos at the plate. Freshman Kari Gutierrez pitched strong in two innings of relief, walking two and only allowing one hit.

Lastrapes led Arizona at the plate going 2-for-4 with a home run, two RBIs, and two runs. Kenzie Fowler earned the shutout in the circle for the Wildcats with seven strikeouts. Fowler is now 17-2 with nine shutouts on the season. With the win Arizona improves to 26-3.

Kaela DeBroeck received the loss for the Lobos and is now 5-7 on the season. New Mexico falls to 10-17. For more information regarding this weekend's games go to www.GoLobos.com.

Thursday, April 17
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Friday, April 18
3:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Saturday, April 19
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Tuesday, April 22
2:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State (DH)
Wednesday, April 23
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State
Friday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Saturday, April 26
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Sunday, April 27
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Tuesday, April 29
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. NM State
Friday, May 02
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Saturday, May 03
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Thursday, May 15
TBA - 
Softball
at TBD
E-News