LoboTV
Lobo Softball Falls to Texas State, 8-4
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/29/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 29, 2009

Box Score

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- New Mexico softball hit a pair of two-run homers but it wasn't enough as the Lobos fell to Texas State 8-4 Sunday at Lobo Field. UNM junior Katie Gilmore and senior Samantha Hughes both hit two-run homers in the loss. The Lobo offense had six hits in the contest. With the win, Texas State swept the three game series.

Texas State (25-12) scored first in the top of the second inning. The Bobcats plated on run on a two-out RBI single to left.

The Lobos (9-23) tried to tie the game in the home half of the second after freshman Jessica Garcia double with one out but was left stranded.

UNM stranded four runners on-base during the series finale.

The Bobcats scored their second run in the third inning on a sacrifice fly off of reliever Analise Rubalcava. Despite inheriting two runners, Rubalcava managed to give up a run and fight her way out of the inning.

The Lobos tied the game at 2-2 in the bottom of the third inning on a two-run shot by Gilmore. UNM seem to have momentum behind them.

Texas State quickly turned the table back in its favor. The Bobcats would score two runs in the fourth, fifth and sixth innings to seal the victory.

Hughes hit a two-run blast in the fifth gave UNM some life but the deficit proved to be too much.

Castro started and took the no decision. Castro gave up two runs on two hits in two innings of work. Rubalcava pitched the final five innings and took the loss. Rubalcava gave up six runs on six hits.

The Lobos return to action Thursday against Utah in the Mountain West Conference opener at 7 p.m. MT at Lobo Field. Gametracker and live video will be available on www.GoLobos.com.

Thursday, April 17
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Friday, April 18
3:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Saturday, April 19
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Tuesday, April 22
2:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State (DH)
Wednesday, April 23
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State
Friday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Saturday, April 26
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Sunday, April 27
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Tuesday, April 29
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. NM State
Friday, May 02
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Saturday, May 03
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Thursday, May 15
TBA - 
Softball
at TBD
E-News