Lobo Ski Team Wins RMISA Regular Season Title
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/26/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Feb. 26, 2010

STEAMBOAT SPRINGS, Colo. --- The first round of skiing awards hardware will start making its way to Albuquerque with the announcement Thursday night of the Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Ski Association regular season awards at the NCAA West Regional/RMISA Championships in Steamboat Springs, Colo. The No. 1-ranked University of New Mexico won the 2010 RMISA regular season team title, the men's team title, the Alpine team title, the men's Alpine team title and the women's Alpine team title. Martin Kaas was named the 2010 men's Nordic MVP, while Petter Brenna was named the 2010 men's Alpine MVP.

"This was one of the greatest regular season performances in UNM ski team history," said Lobo head coach Fredrik Landstedt. "Winning two meets and finishing second in the other two show the strength and consistency of the student-athletes on this team."

New Mexico edged out No. 2-ranked Colorado 3,480 - 3,438.5 points for the overall team title, while the Alpine squads ran away with their regular season titles. The Lobos beat Colorado for the Alpine team, women's Alpine and men's team titles and beat Utah for the men's Alpine title.

"We are very happy with how things have gone so far," said Lobo Alpine coach Martin Kroisleitner. "We were able to win every Alpine meet in regular season. That's a big accomplishment for us! Being regular season champion means a lot to us. That shows that we were consistent throughout the entire season and that we are a strong contender for the NCAA title this year.

Kaas, a junior from Oslo, Norway, won five of eight races during the regular season, including the first three of the season. He has not finished outside of the top-10 all season. Kaas is currently tied for first place on the UNM men's Nordic career and season wins lists with Jimmy Vika (2003) with the five wins. Kaas owns the UNM men's classic career and season records with three wins in 2010.

Brenna, a sophomore from Baerum, Norway, earned three wins out of 10 races during the 2010 season. The wins move Brenna into first place on the UNM men's Alpine career wins list with eight, passing former Lobo All-Americans Stefan Lanzier (1997-99), Lars Loeseth (2004-07) and Tor Fodnesbergene (2006-08). Three 2010 wins ranks tied for fourth on the men's Alpine season wins list.

"Having two out of four possible conference skiers of the year adds individual recognition," said Landstedt. "We also have a record number of individual wins (16) this year. Having five different athletes winning individual NCAA qualification competitions and a few more placing top-3 shows that we are bringing a team that can score lots of points at the NCAA championships."

The Lobos are currently competing at the 2010 NCAA West Regional/RMISA Championships/University of Colorado Laura Sharpe Flood Memorial Invitational, Feb. 26-27.