Dairese Gary Named Preseason All-MWC by Blue Ribbon
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  10/05/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

Oct. 5, 2010

Dairese Gary, the lone senior on head coach Steve Alford's 2010-11 men's basketball team, has been selected as a preseason All-Mountain West Conference pick by the Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook. Along with Gary, UCLA transfer Drew Gordon was named the conference's Newcomer of the Year.

The Blue Ribbon College Basketball Yearbook is touted on Blue Ribbon's website as "the `bible' of college basketball by coaches, NBA scouts, ESPN and CBS broadcasters, newspaper and magazine beat writers". The magazine is in its 30th year.

Drew Gordon was picked preseason Newcomer of the Year by Blue Ribbon

Gary helped lead the Lobos to unprecedented heights in 2009-10, as he quarterbacked New Mexico to their second straight Mountain West Conference title as well as the program's first NCAA tournament win in 11 years. Gary had a shot at becoming the winningest Lobo in school history as well in 2010-11. Last season he averaged 13.1 points per game, third on the squad. He also registered 137 assists on the season and was 195-of-260 from the free throw line, a .750 mark.

Gordon came to the Lobos after the fall semester after spending a season and a half with the UCLA Bruins. The 6-9 forward averaged 11.2 points and 5.3 rebounds after only six games with UCLA before coming to the Duke City.

New Mexico was predicted fourth in the MWC by Blue Ribbon, behind San Diego State, UNLV, and BYU. Ironically, the Lobos were selected by many pundits to finish fourth last season when New Mexico went 14-2 and won the outright regular season title, giving Alford's squad back-to-back Mountain West Championships.

The Lobos will play their exhibition opener in the renovated Pit on November 3 against Eastern New Mexico at 7 p.m.

1. San Diego State
3. BYU
4. New Mexico
5. Colorado State
6. Wyoming
7. Utah
8. TCU
9. Air Force

G-Jimmer Fredette, SR, BYU
G-Tre'Von Willis, SR, UNLV
G-Dariese Gary, SR, New Mexico

F-Billy White, SR, San Diego State
F-Kawhi Leonard, SO, San Diego State

Jimmer Fredette, SR, BYU

Drew Gordon, JR, New Mexico