LoboTV
Ryan Honeycutt Named Mountain West Conference Player of the Week
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  03/29/2010
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

March 29, 2010

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Junior Ryan Honeycutt has been named the Mountain West Conference Player of the Week as announced by the conference office today. Honeycutt hit .526 last week going 10-for-19 with seven RBIs and one grand slam in a two-game series against Arizona and a three-game sweep of San Diego State. This is the first career award for Honeycutt and the second for a Lobo this season.

"This is a big tribute to the coaching staff," said Honeycutt. "Coach Birmingham has really been working with me on my hitting. It feels good to win the award and hopefully it's not the last time I do. This is an individual award but it's for the team."

In game-one against San Diego State, Honeycutt took the second pitch he saw over the right field fence for a grand slam that propelled the Lobos to a 12-7 win. The Las Cruces, N.M., native also had a double and tied a career-high with five RBIs in a single game. He was 3-for-5 with one RBI in Saturday's 8-5 game-two win.

Honeycutt was 5-for-8 with two runs scored in a two-game series against Arizona on March 23-24.

The Lobos travel to UNLV to take on the Rebels on April 1-3. For more information, visit www.GoLobos.com.

Saturday, March 28
1 - 8 (L)
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Sunday, March 29
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Tuesday, March 31
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 18
3:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
E-News