Ewart Named MWC Player of the Year
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/18/2009
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 18, 2009

SEASIDE, Calif. - The Mountain West Conference announced its all-conference team and individual awards at the conclusion of its women's golf championship at the Black Horse Golf Course in Seaside, Calif., on Saturday, April 18. New Mexico junior Jodi Ewart was named the Player of the Year, while San Diego State's Malin Enarsson earned Freshman of the Year honors. Colorado State head coach Angie Hopkins was selected the Coach of the Year.

Ewart finished fourth at the 2009 MWC Women's Golf Championship, helping the Lobos to a second straight conference title. The league's co-Player of the Year in 2007 and '08, Ewart is the first MWC golfer in league history to earn three consecutive Player of the Year honors. Ewart led the MWC regular season with a 71.86 stroke average. The junior finished the 2008-09 season with tournament wins at the Branch Law Firm Dick McGuire Invitational [72-69-72=213 (-6)] and the Arizona Invitational [72-71-70=213 (-3)]. Overall she amassed six top-five finishes on the year.

Enarsson led San Diego State and was fourth in the MWC in stroke average (74.00) this season. The freshman earned her first victory in a dual meet with Cal State Bakersfield. Enarsson also earned medalist honors at the Aztec Invitational (second place) and the BYU Dixie Classic (third place).

Colorado State head coach Angie Hopkins earned MWC Coach of the Year honors for the second time in her career. This year, she led the Rams to a second-place finish at the Dixie Classic. Colorado State also amassed four top-five finishes and seven top-10 appearances this season.

Coach of the Year: Angie Hopkins, Colorado State
Player of the Year: Jodi Ewart, New Mexico
Freshman of the Year: Malin Enarsson, San Diego State

All-Conference Team
Jodi Ewart, New Mexico

Therese Koelbaek, UNLV
Natasha Krishna, UNLV
Malin Enarsson, San Diego State
Valentine Derrey, TCU
Rachel Raastad, TCU
Kasey Claussen, Colorado State
Prisela Campbell, TCU
Jonelle Martinez, Wyoming