LoboTV
Lobos Crush Air Force, 23-2; Advance To Play Utah Friday
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/27/2004
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 27, 2004

Box Score

LAS VEGAS, Nev. - The New Mexico baseball team set Mountain West Conference Tournament records with 23 runs and 25 hits in a 23-2 thrashing of Air Force Thursday night in the consolation bracket of the six-team, double-elimination tournament. The second-seeded Lobos (25-28-1), who lost to third-seeded UNLV earlier Thursday 15-9, now advance to play Utah Friday morning at 11 a.m. PT.

New Mexico, as it did all year against Air Force (6-49), put on an offensive display. The Lobos tied a MWC Tournament record with 10 runs in the fourth inning and also plated eight in the first frame. Earlier this season at Air Force, New Mexico set a school and MWC record for runs in a 31-11 win.

Daniel Stovall established another tournament record with five runs. The first baseman went 3-for-4 in the game and hit his seventh homer of the season against the Falcons with a solo shot in the third.

Matt Young, Josh Mader and Joe Salas all collected three hits for the Lobos. Mader hit his 10th homer of the season in the fourth and Jay Russell nailed his second homer of the season with a two-run knock in the sixth.

Freshman Danny Ray Herrera earned his fourth win of the season by pitching five innings of one-run ball, although the run was unearned. Herrera (4-7) struck out three and allowed three hits.

Mike Smith struck out a season-best nine batters in four innings of relief to pick up his first save of the season.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News