No. 51 New Mexico Collects Important Win Over BYU
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/11/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

April 11, 2008

Complete Results in PDF FormatGet Acrobat Reader

PROVO, UTAH --- The University of New Mexico men's tennis team, ranked No. 51, are guaranteed at least a share of the regular season MWC championship after defeating BYU, 4-0 on Friday. New Mexico and TCU end the season in a battle tomorrow in Provo. With a victory the Lobos are sole MWC champions and a TCU victory means the Lobos and Horned Frogs share the regular season title.

The Lobos improve to 18-6 overall and 5-0 in MWC action with their 11 consecutive victory. The 2008 squad is the first to collect 18 wins under Head Coach Alan Dils, the winningest coach in the history of the program (162-110).

Their 11-match win streak ties the longest streak since Tim Cass' squad began 11-0 in 1995. Prior to that, the last time a squad won 11 or more in a row was in 1984 (19 consecutive victories).

The match started with New Mexico sweeping BYU in doubles. Max Jones and Kamil Pajkowski played the No. 1 spot against Jonathan Sanchez and A. J. Young with the Lobo pair winning 8-5. At No. 2, Johnny Parkes and Chris Parkes beat Daniel Hwang and Thomas Shubert 8-4 to improve to 16-6 overall. Graeme Kassautzki and Joe Wood defeated Cassidy Mears and Evan Urbina 8-5 completing the sweep.

The top three singles matches finished in order and all in favor of New Mexico. Jones put the Lobos up 2-0 with a 6-4, 6-1 victory over Sanchez. Johnny Parkes beat Shubert 6-4, 6-3, improving to 19-10 on the season and 13-5 at No.2. Kassautzki gave the Lobos the match and championship with a 7-6, 6-4 victory over Mears. The match ended once the dual had been decided to allow other matches to start on the four indoor courts.

Coach Dils said, "It was another incredible effort from the guys. They fought hard all the way through from top to bottom."

The Lobos will end the regular season against No. 34 TCU, 17-6 overall and 4-1 in MWC, play on Saturday and then travel to Fort Worth for the MWC tournament April 24-26.