LoboTV
Softball Falls at No. 19 San Diego State, 2-1
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/03/2008
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics

May 3, 2008

Box Score

New Mexico at San Diego State Box Score in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

SAN DIEGO, Calif. --- New Mexico softball was defeated 2-1 Saturday at No. 19 San Diego State in Mountain West Conference action. The Lobos had five hits in the contest including an RBI single by freshman Gabriella Parra. New Mexico slips to 23-23 and 5-10 in conference play. The Aztecs are 40-15 on the year and 12-5 in the MWC.

Sophomore Sara Loeffelholz singled up the middle for the first UNM hit in the third inning. Leoffelholz, who hit in the leadoff spot, went 2-for-4 in the contest.

SDSU snapped a scoreless tie in the bottom of the third inning. The Aztecs scored twice in the inning on two hits. Tonye McCorkle had a run-scoring single and Erin Floros plated a run on shot to the UNM shortstop with bases loaded.

The Lobos cut the lead in half with a run in the fourth inning. Freshman Gabriella Parra singled through the right side of the infield allowing sophomore Erin Brandow to score from third. UNM had back-to-back singles in the inning by Parra and sophomore Katie Gilmore.

UNM tried to rally in the top of the seventh inning with two runners on-base but SDSU starter Christina Ross closed out the inning. The Lobos stranded seven runners on during the game.

Ross got the win for the Aztecs and improved to 27-12 overall. SDSU had four hits in the game.

Freshman Madelyn Machac threw for New Mexico and dropped to 5-6. Machac allowed two runs on four hits with two strikeouts.

The Lobos and Aztecs play the series finale Sunday at 1 p.m. PT. Gametracker and live video will be available on www.GoLobos.com.

Thursday, April 17
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Friday, April 18
3:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Saturday, April 19
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. UNLV
Tuesday, April 22
2:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State (DH)
Wednesday, April 23
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Colorado State
Friday, April 25
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Saturday, April 26
1:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Sunday, April 27
12:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. Utah State
Tuesday, April 29
5:00 PM - 
Softball
vs. NM State
Friday, May 02
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Saturday, May 03
3:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Sunday, May 04
1:00 PM - 
Softball
at Boise State
Thursday, May 15
TBA - 
Softball
at TBD
E-News