LoboTV
Print  
Position:



  Josh Simpson

Josh Simpson

Player Profile

Position:
Volunteer Assistant Coach

Experience:
First Year

Alma Mater:
Northwestern Oklahoma '03


Josh Simpson begins his first year as a volunteer assistant for New Mexico. Simpson, a knowledgeable young coach, is coming off a successful rookie season.

Simpson spent last year as an assistant coach at Lamar Community College in Colorado. He guided the Runnin' Lopes to a 51-11 record. The team was runner-up at the district finals and finished fourth in the country after appearing in the JUCO World Series.

Simpson also garnered coaching experience as an assistant coach for the Waterloo Bucks, a member of the Northwoods League. Simpson has already been asked back for his second season in the summer of 2006.

Simpson started his collegiate baseball career at El Paso Community College. A two-year outfielder for the Tejanos, Simpson helped the team win its first-ever Western Junior College Athletic Conference championship in 2001. He transfered to Northwestern Oklahoma State University for his final two years of eligibility. As a junior, he hit .367 with 13 home runs and 47 RBI, which were the second and third most on the team, respectively. He hit .255 his senior year, belting 10 homers, again the second most on the team, with 34 RBI.

A 2003 graduate with a bachelor's degree in Wellness Promotion, Simpson, 25, hails from Los Alamos, N.M.

Saturday, February 28
11:00 AM - 
Baseball
vs. San Francisco
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Utah Valley vs. San Francisco
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Sunday, March 01
10:30 AM - 
Baseball
vs. San Francisco
1:30 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Utah Valley
Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
E-News