LoboTV
stop
Fog Halts Lobos' Opener in Third Inning
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/14/2014

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - The University of New Mexico baseball team hoped to earn its first win of the season in its opening game Friday night at the University of San Diego.

Mother Nature had other ideas, however.

Heavy fog forced a halt in play in the bottom of the third inning with the game tied 2-2.

The Toreros opened the scoring in the first on an infield single, a wild pitch and a single to center to jump out to an early 1-0 lead off UNM starter Drew Bridges.

A miscue by San Diego's defense helped UNM take its first lead. With two outs in the third Sam Haggerty reached on an error by the Torero's second baseman. Chase Harris then made them pay.

After spending the majority of 2013 as the Lobos' leadoff hitter, the senior has moved to third in the lineup to better take advantage of his power. He showed it off by smacking a two-run homer to left center.

UNM's 2-1 lead was short-lived, though, as USD tied the game on a one-out double in the bottom of the frame, immediately before play was halted.

The teams will pick up where they left off at 1:35 p.m. MT on Saturday and proceed to complete the first game before playing the second game at 5:05 p.m. MT. Both games will be broadcast on Fox Sports San Diego, which is channel 694 on DirecTV and 408 on Dish Network.

Sunday, March 29
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Tuesday, March 31
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 18
3:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 19
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
E-News