LoboTV
stop
Josh Walker Named MW Pitcher of the Week
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/24/2014

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Josh Walker was named Mountain West Pitcher of the Week following his 7-0 shutout of the Missouri State Bears Sunday at Lobo Field. It was a dominating performance from the Preseason All-American, who rebounded after a rough outing against San Diego last weekend.

"He deserves this," UNM head coach Ray Birmingham said. "He beat a very good Missouri State team 7-0. That's big. That's hard to do"

The senior from Rio Rancho, N.M., was masterful against the Bears. He allowed just five hits, four of which were singles, and did not walk a single batter. He struck out three and needed just 95 pitches, 68 for strikes, to get through the game. He kept the ball down throughout the game and recorded 15 groundball outs, with nine coming in the sixth inning or later.

"I got the ball down," he said. "Every day is a learning experience. I learned from the last game. The past doesn't matter now that we're in the present. I put my heart and soul with the team and just pitched hard."

The win was No. 20 of Walker's career, just seven shy of the career record at UNM, and moved his career winning percentage to .800 (20-5), which is the highest of any Lobo.

It's the second career MW Pitcher of the Week Award for Walker. He earned his first last season after pitching a complete-game shutout over Fresno State on May 10.

Friday, March 06
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Saturday, March 07
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Sunday, March 08
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. San Diego State
Tuesday, March 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Wednesday, March 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Stephen F. Austin
Friday, March 13
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Saturday, March 14
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Sunday, March 15
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Nevada
Wednesday, March 18
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Arizona State
Friday, March 20
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Saturday, March 21
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Sunday, March 22
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Houston
Tuesday, March 24
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Texas Tech
Friday, March 27
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Saturday, March 28
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
E-News