LoboTV
stop
Josh Walker Named MW Pitcher of the Week
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  02/24/2014

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Josh Walker was named Mountain West Pitcher of the Week following his 7-0 shutout of the Missouri State Bears Sunday at Lobo Field. It was a dominating performance from the Preseason All-American, who rebounded after a rough outing against San Diego last weekend.

"He deserves this," UNM head coach Ray Birmingham said. "He beat a very good Missouri State team 7-0. That's big. That's hard to do"

The senior from Rio Rancho, N.M., was masterful against the Bears. He allowed just five hits, four of which were singles, and did not walk a single batter. He struck out three and needed just 95 pitches, 68 for strikes, to get through the game. He kept the ball down throughout the game and recorded 15 groundball outs, with nine coming in the sixth inning or later.

"I got the ball down," he said. "Every day is a learning experience. I learned from the last game. The past doesn't matter now that we're in the present. I put my heart and soul with the team and just pitched hard."

The win was No. 20 of Walker's career, just seven shy of the career record at UNM, and moved his career winning percentage to .800 (20-5), which is the highest of any Lobo.

It's the second career MW Pitcher of the Week Award for Walker. He earned his first last season after pitching a complete-game shutout over Fresno State on May 10.

Sunday, March 29
12:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Fresno State
Tuesday, March 31
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Texas Tech
Thursday, April 02
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Friday, April 03
7:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Saturday, April 04
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at San Diego State
Tuesday, April 07
5:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Wednesday, April 08
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
at Kansas
Friday, April 10
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Saturday, April 11
2:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Sunday, April 12
1:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Air Force
Tuesday, April 14
6:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Wednesday, April 15
3:00 PM - 
Baseball
vs. Grand Canyon
Friday, April 17
7:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Saturday, April 18
3:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
Sunday, April 19
2:05 PM - 
Baseball
at UNLV
E-News