Williams, Bairstow Take Top Honors at MBB Awards Banquet
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/17/2014

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. --- One had as consistent a four-year career as any player in school history.  One had a rise from bit player to superstar.  Both will go down as two of the greatest Lobos in school history, and Kendall Williams and Cameron Bairstow shared top honors at the 2013-14 Lobo Men’s Basketball Awards Banquet, presented by Branch Law Firm, as both were named co-Bob King MVP Award winners.

The banquet once again was a sold-out festive affair at the Embassy Suites Hotel, with over 500 fans, family members, boosters and squad members in attendance.  Lobo radio color analyst Scott Didrickson once again served as the emcee of the event, which saw head coach Craig Neal present lettermen’s jackets to all of UNM’s new letter winners this season.

Williams walked off with a host of awards, winning the last three; most assists, outstanding defensive player (a tie with Alex Kirk as both were on the 2014 MW All-Defensive Team) and of course Bob King MVP honors.  Bairstow, along with Bob King MVP honors, earned two other awards.  He won for highest field goal percentage and for most improved player.

Alex Kirk, Hugh Greenwood, Cleveland Thomas and Cullen Neal each walked away with two awards each.  Kirk was co-outstanding defensive player and the leading rebounder, and Greenwood and Thomas shared the Lobo Award for best All-Around Student-Athlete.  Greenwood also took home an award for most charges taken, while Cleveland won for best free throw percentage.  Neal won for Sixth Man and he also earned the team’s academic achievement award.

The other award winner was Obij Aget for Comeback Player of the Year.

At the conclusion of the awards, the team debuted the 2013-14 highlight film, and UNM’s three seniors: Kendall Williams, Cameron Bairstow and Chris Perez were all recognized.

2013-14 Award Winners
Highest Free Throw Percentage: Cleveland Thomas, .872
Highest Field Goal Percentage: Cameron Bairstow, .556
Leading Rebounder: Alex Kirk, 277 (8.7)
Most Improved Player: Cameron Bairstow
Sixth Man Award: Cullen Neal
Comeback Player of the Year Award: Obij Aget
Academic Achievement Award: Cullen Neal
Most Charges Taken: Hugh Greenwood
Lobo Award (All-Around Student-Athlete): Cleveland Thomas and Hugh Greenwood
Most Assist: Kendall Williams
Outstanding Defensive Player: Alex Kirk and Kendall Williams
Bob King MVP: Kendall Williams and Cameron Bairstow