Photos: Brett Wilhelm/NCAA
Photos: Brett Wilhelm/NCAA
Stevens: Trujillo's Lobos are Mountain West Champs
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  04/26/2014

2014 Mountain West Awards 

Coach of Year: Jill Trujillo, New Mexico. Player of Year: Dana Finkelstein, UNLV. Freshman of Year: Sirene Blair, San Diego State.

All-MW First Team:  Sammi Stevens, UNM; Dana Finkelstein, UNLV; Sirene Blair, SDSU; Emma Henrikson, SDSU; Regan De Guzman, SJS.

All-MW Second Team: Manon De Roey, New Mexico; Manon Mollé, New Mexico; Gudrun Bjorgsvindottir, Fresno State; Samantha Martin, Boise State; Madchen Ly, Fresno State; Paige Spiranac, SDSU; Mayko Chwen Wang, UNLV.


New Mexico Lobos – 2014 Mountain West Women’s Golf Champions

 Where: Dinah Shore Tournament Course at Mission Hills Country Club - Rancho Mirage, Calif.

Final Team Results:  1- New Mexico 295-295-312 = 902. 2- San Jose State 294-300-309 = 903. 3- San Diego State 293-308-308 = 909. 3 (tie)- Fresno State 296-296-317 = 909. 3 (tie)- UNLV 303-290-316 = 909. 6- Boise State 296-305-319 = 920. 7- Nevada 308-310-310 = 928. 8- Colorado State 311-305-313 = 929. 9- Wyoming 310-317-326 = 953.

Final Top 10 Individual: 1- Gudrun Bjorgvinsdottir, Fresno St, 71-77-76 = 218. 2- Dana Finkelstein, UNLV, 73-69-77 = 219. 2 (tie)- Emma Henrikson, SDSU, 71-73-75 = 219. 4- Regan De Guzman, San Jose State, 73-72-75 = 220. 5- Manon Mollé, New Mexico, 71-71-79 = 221. 6- Madchen Ly, Fresno St, 71-71-80 = 220. 7- Manon De Roey, New Mexico, 74-73-76 = 223. 7 (tie)- Samantha Martin, Boise State, 74-72-77 = 223 9- Sammi Stevens, New Mexico, 76-73-75 = 224. 10- Paige Spiranac, SDSU, 72-79-74 = 225.

Live Scoring:  tournament central page, located at http://www.themw.com/#!/page/championship_w-golf, or directly on GolfStat.com.

By Richard Stevens – Senior Writer/GoLobos.com

The three Mountain West championship rings that Jill Trujillo placed on her desk as motivation for her 2013-14 Lobos need to slide over and make room for a new member of the Lobo Ring family.

The New Mexico Lobos are the 2014 Mountain West Women’s Golf Champions.

By a single stroke.

The photo finish expected in both the team and individual race materialized in a dramatic fashion as both crowns were determined by a single shot on a LPGA course that played like a monster damaging scorecards from the top of the leader board to the bottom.

You could say New Mexico survived the onslaught.

"It came down to the last hole," said Trujillo.

The Lobos went into Saturday’s final round with a two shot lead and three hungry teams nipping at their heels and rode the clubs of Manon De Roey, Sammi Stevens and Manon Mollé -- who all finished in the Top 10 -- to grab the 2014 title by one shot over San Jose State.

The final count was 902 to 903. The Lobos also won the Mountain West crown in 2003 by one shot.

Before the season began, Trujillo placed her three MW title rings on the desk in her office for her Lobos to admire, envy and chase.

“I told them they could have one of their own,” said Trujillo in the early fall season.

The Lobos did exactly that over three testing days of golf on the Dinah Shore Tournament Course at Mission Hills Country Club - Rancho Mirage, Calif.  The course did not play easy on Saturday’s final round and took a bite out of several scorecards, but New Mexico did just enough to win their first MW crown since 2010.

Mollé struggled over the first 11 holes which cost her a shot at the 2014 individual title, but the talented New Mexico freshman still had a team title to help win.  She did her part in a big way.  

Mollé played the final seven holes at one-over to help bring the Mountain West trophy back to Albuquerque. This marks UNM's eighth overall MW title since the league's inception in 1999.

The 2014 title came down to the final hole.  If Molle carded a par or better, the Lobos were champions of the Mountain.  If she came in with a bogey, the Lobos would be locked in a tie with San Jose State.

Mollé, the last Lobo on the course, got the par and the Lobos got to celebrate.  It was their first MW title since 2010. 

The individual title went to Fresno State’s Gudrun Bjorgvinsdottir, who carded a four-over to win the crown by a single shot over UNLV’s Dana Finkelstein and San Diego State’s Emma Henrikson.   Molle had a 79 on her final round to finish fifth.  De Roey fired a 76 to finish tied for seventh and Stevens shot a 75 to finish ninth.

The three Lobos in the Top 10 proved to be the difference -- by a shot -- in New Mexico grabbing the crown.

Really, it was a round in which every shot counted.  The pressure on Mollé as she came down the stretch was tremendous as De Roey had bogeyed the final three holes and Stevens had bogeyed No. 17.  Mollé ignored the pressure of the Dinah Shore course and shot par on her final four holes.

The Dinah Shore course was a beast on Saturday. The Lobos had gone 295-295 to take the 36-hole lead and finished the 54-hole tournament with a 312 and used cards of 79 and 82 to help them claim the title.  Fresno State and UNLV faded with team cards of 317 and 316, respectively.

The damage to scorecards was reflected by the Top 10 individual finishers as only one golfer improved her score from Friday’s second round.  Bjorgvinsdottir won the title coming in with a 76 and Finkelstein earned runner-up honors with a 77 over the final 18 holes. Fresno State's Madchen Ly shot an 80 on the final round and still finished in the sixth spot.   

It was a tough day of golf.

Lobo freshman Katerina Jaeger shot an 82 on the final round, but that score went into the New Mexico team total and was good enough to help earn UNM the MW title.