Lobo Golf Men Off to Auburn for NCAA Regional
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/05/2014

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. – The University of New Mexico men’s golf team will play in the Auburn Regional of the NCAA Tournament, the NCAA announced Monday.

The Lobos (the No. 25 team in the nation as ranked by Golfstat.com, and No. 22 Golfweek.com/Sagarin) will be the No. 5 seed among the 13 teams participating at the Auburn University Club in Auburn, Ala. The other top four seeds in the regional are No. 1 seed Alabama (No. 1 Golfstat and Golfweek/Sagarin), No. 2 seed Virginia Tech (No. 12 Golfstat, No. 14 Golfweek/Sagarin), No. 3 seed Texas (No. 13 Golfstat and Golfweek/Sagarin), No. 4 Auburn (No. 23 Golfstat, No. 21 Golfweek/Sagarin).

The other teams competing in the field are BYU (No. 36, No. 42, respectively), Kennesaw State (No. 37/39), Colorado (No. 48/53), Louisville (No. 49/50), North Carolina-Greensboro (No. 60/68), UC Davis (No. 62/59), Sam Houston State (No. 137/111), St. John’s (No. 139/141) and Alabama State (No. 192/201).

The top five teams will advance to the NCAA Championship, which is scheduled for May 23-28 at the Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kansas.

It’s the 11th appearance for the Lobos in 13 seasons under coach Glen Millican and third in a row. Last season, the Lobos won the Columbus Regional in Columbus, Ohio by two strokes over Auburn and South Carolina to advance to the NCAA Championship. UNM’s James Erkenbeck captured medalist honors, shooting a 3-under 210.

The Lobos finished fifth in the NCAA Championship, losing their quarterfinal match-play competition to eventual national champion Alabama.

In 2012, UNM finished sixth in the Athens Regional, missing out on a berth in the NCAA Championship by a single stroke.

The Lobos have qualified for the NCAA Regionals 24 times since the regional format began in 1989. Junior Gavin Green, the reigning Mountain West champion, tied for 15th in last year’s regional and will lead the team into the Auburn regional.

Mountain West rivals UNLV (No. 28/28) and San Diego State (No.38/ 34) also have qualified for NCAA Regional play. The Rebels are the No. 5 seed in the Sugar Grove Regional in Sugar Grove, Ill. The Aztecs are the No. 7 seed in the Columbia Regional in Columbia, Mo.