Lobo Track Scores 19 All-Mountain West Selections
Courtesy: New Mexico Athletics  
Release:  05/19/2014

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — 19 University of New Mexico track and field athletes were selected to the Mountain West Outdoor Track & Field All-Conference men's and women's teams Monday. All-MW selections are awarded to the top three finishers in each event at last weekend's MW Outdoor Championships.

The Lobos, having won the program’s first MW outdoor title on the men’s side and placing second on the women’s, saw 19 athletes selected for the second straight year. For the men, 14 individuals and two relay teams claimed 20 total honors, while five women scored seven total selections.

For the men, titlists Luke Caldwell (5000-meter run, 10000), Peter Callahan (1500) and Gabe Aragon (800) all collected honors for their victories, with Callahan (800) and Aragon (4x400) earning additional titles for top-three performances in other events.

Reneilwe Aphane (triple jump) and Richard York (javelin, decathlon) also nabbed All-MW plaudits for their individual titles.

Charles Lewis (400, 400 hurdles), Chris Kline (400), Jake Shelley (1500), Adam Bitchell (5000, 10000), Patrick Zacharias (5000, 10000), Kendall Spencer (long jump), Warrick Campbell (triple jump) all received all-conference honors individually, as well.

The relay teams of Ridge Jones, Mustafa Mudada, Spencer and Kline (4x100) and Kline, Mudada, Lewis and Aragon (4x400) were also accorded honors.

The 20 honors are the most in program history, with the 14 athletes selected are second most behind 16 athletes in 2011.

For the women, five Lobos earned All-MW honors: Charlotte Arter (1500, 5000), Chloe Anderson (800), Suzi Boast (800, 1500), Haley Sanner (400) and Annie Stirling (pole vault).

The seven selections are the fewest for UNM since 2012, and the five recipients are the fewest since 2007. The women’s team is the only runner-up in MW history to have fewer than nine all-conference selections.

The Lobos’ next competition will be  the NCAA West Preliminary Championship in Fayetteville, Ark., on May 29-31 as they look to qualify to the NCAA Outdoor Championships in Eugene, Ore., on June 11-14.